The official website for European football

Club Atlético de Madrid

Club Atlético de Madrid
Atlético celebrate their second UEFA Europa League final win, in 2012 ©Getty Images

Club Atlético de Madrid

Formed: 1903

Nicknames: Los Colchoneros (The Mattress Makers), Los Rojiblancos (The Red and Whites)

UEFA club competition honours (runners-up in brackets)
• European Champion Clubs' Cup: (1974), (2014)
• UEFA Europa League: 2010, 2012
• UEFA Super Cup: 2010, 2012
• UEFA Cup Winners' Cup: 1962; (1963), (1986)
• UEFA Intertoto Cup: 2007; (2004)

Domestic honours (most recent triumph in brackets)
• League title: 10 (2014)
• Spanish Cup: 10 (2013)

• Athletic Club de Madrid were founded by a group of Madrid-based Basque students. The new side donned the same blue-and-white kit as their hometown Athletic Club Bilbao did, but were forbidden from playing in it so in 1911 they adopted red-and-white stripes. In 1923 they moved into the Estadio Metropolitano.

• Los Rojiblancos were invited to join the inaugural Liga in 1928, finishing sixth. The post-Spanish Civil War economic downturn prompted an amalgamation with Zaragoza's Aviación Nacional, hence the 1939 inception of Athletic Aviación Club. Successive league titles arrived in 1940 and 1941 before the name Club Atlético de Madrid was assumed in 1947, before back-to-back Liga crowns in 1950 and 1951.

• Defeated by Real Madrid CF in the European Champion Clubs' Cup semi-finals, Los Colchoneros took revenge with consecutive Copa del Rey final victories over their city rivals in 1960 and 1961. The latter booked Atlético a place in the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, which they won by beating ACF Fiorentina in the final before missing out to Tottenham Hotspur FC in the following year's showpiece.

• They returned to the European Champion Clubs' Cup in 1973, reaching the final only to lose the replay 4-0 to FC Bayern Münich after Luis Aragonés's extra-time opener had been cancelled out in the last minute two days earlier. With Bayern opting out of the following season's European/South American Cup, Atlético stepped in and defeated CA Independiente to become champions.

• Further Copa del Rey triumphs followed (1976, 1985, 1991, 1992), as well as a 1986 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup final loss to FC Dynamo Kyiv, but 1995/96 eclipsed it all as Radomir Antić's side completed a league and cup double. Just four years later, they were relegated. Aragonés guided them back to the top flight in 2002 and in 2010 their 48-year wait for contintal silverware was over as two Diego Forlán goals earned an extra-time victory against Fulham FC in the inaugural UEFA Europa League.

• The arrival of Diego Simeone in December 2011 began a new era of success, with the Argentinian – a former Liga and cup double-winning midfielder with Atlético – guiding Los Colchoneros to UEFA Europa League, UEFA Super Cup and Copa del Rey glory. The following season they won the Liga and had one hand on the UEFA Champions League before Sergio Ramos' 93rd-minute equaliser forced extra time in the final; Real Madrid CF went on to win 4-1.

* Last updated on 25 May 2014

Last updated: 25/05/14 15.20CET

Club record in UEFA competitions

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA EUROPA LEAGUE word, the UEFA Europa League logo and the UEFA Europa League trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.