The official website for European football


Bursaspor's hallmark crocodile goal celebration ©Bursaspor


Formed: 1963
Nickname: Timsah (Crocs)

UEFA club competition honours (runners-up in brackets)
• None

Domestic honours (most recent triumph in brackets)
League title: 1 (2010)
Turkish Cup: 1 (1986)

• Formed on 1 June 1963 with the merger of amateur sides Acar İdman Yurdu, Akınspor, Çelikspor, İstiklal and Pınarspor, Bursaspor's colours reflect the white of the snow-capped Mount Uludag and the greenery of Bursa city; they made their debut in the second division in 1963/64, winning promotion to the top tier as champions in 1966/67.

• Regularly finishing in the top half of the table, they had their first taste of European competition in 1974/75, qualifying as losing Turkish Cup finalists; they reached the third round of the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup but lost out to eventual winners FC Dynamo Kyiv.

• Bursaspor's first four Turkish Cup finals featured only one success, Tomislav Kaleperović leading them to victory in 1985/86, with the late Serbian coach's side beating Altay GK 2-0 in the final; they were none the less relegated in the next campaign, only to be recalled to the top division after two games of the next season when two clubs were demoted for match fixing.

• The club reached the second round of the 1995 UEFA Intertoto Cup, where their defeat against Karlsruher SC was to have a lasting legacy, as Ugandan striker Majid Mususi became the first Bursaspor player to celebrate a goal with their now famous crocodile celebration, one of the club's hallmarks.

• Relegated in 2004, Bursaspor returned to the top flight in 2006, and found new momentum with the appointment of former Beşiktaş JK coach Ertuğrul Sağlam in January 2009; they finished sixth in his first season and became the first club from outside Istanbul since Trabzonspor in 1984 to take the Turkish title in 2009/10, edging out Fenerbahçe SK on the final day.

Club records
Most appearances: Turhan Şen (337)
Most goals: Okan Yılmaz (117)
Record victory: Bursaspor 8-0 MKE Ankaragücü (First Division, 13 October 1995)
Record defeat: Fenerbahçe SK 7-1 Bursaspor (First Division, 17 November 2002)

Last updated: 2 July 2013

Last updated: 02/07/13 13.15CET

Club record in UEFA competitions