• First qualifying round
    3-5 July 2012
  • First qualifying round
    10-12 July 2012
  • Second qualifying round
    19 July 2012
  • Second qualifying round
    26 July 2012
  • Third qualifying round
    2 August 2012
  • Third qualifying round
    9 August 2012


  • Play-offs
    23-22 August 2012
  • Play-offs
    30-28 August 2012

Group stage

  • Matchday 1
    20 September 2012
  • Matchday 2
    4 October 2012
  • Matchday 3
    25 October 2012
  • Matchday 4
    8 November 2012
  • Matchday 5
    22-28 November 2012
  • Matchday 6
    6-7 December 2012

Knockout phase

  • Round of 32, 1st leg
    14 February 2013
  • Round of 32, 2nd leg
    21 February 2013
  • Round of 16, 1st leg
    7 March 2013
  • Round of 16, 2nd leg
    14 March 2013
  • Quarter-finals, 1st leg
    4 April 2013
  • Quarter-finals, 2nd leg
    11 April 2013
  • Semi-finals, 1st leg
    25 April 2013
  • Semi-finals, 2nd leg
    2 May 2013


  • Final
    15 May 2013

Road to the final

The UEFA Europa League comprises three qualifying rounds, a play-off round, a group stage and five knockout rounds.

In matches in the three qualifying rounds and the play-offs, clubs play two matches against each other on a home-and-away basis. The club which scores the greater aggregate of goals qualifies for the next round, with away goals and then penalties used to determine the winner in the event of a draw.

Group stage
The play-off round winners join the ten losers from the UEFA Champions League play-offs and automatic entrants. The clubs are split into 12 groups of four teams, playing home and away against each of their pool opponents between September and December. Two sides from each section advance, proceeding into the round of 32 alongside eight third-placed teams from the UEFA Champions League group stage.

Knockout phase
From the last 32 until the semi-finals, clubs play two games against each other on a home-and-away basis with the same rules as the qualifying and play-off rounds applied. In the last 32, group winners and the four third-placed sides from the UEFA Champions League with the best records are seeded, guaranteeing they will play the second leg at home. Teams from the same group or the same association cannot be drawn together. From the round of 16 onwards the draw is free.

The final is decided by a single match, which this season will be played at the Amsterdam ArenA on Wednesday 15 May.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, can be found in the official competition regulations.