All times CET

Quarter-finals , 1st leg : 4 April 2013

4 April 2013
Referee: Gianluca Rocchi (ITA) – Stadium: Stamford Bridge, London (ENG)
04/05/2013 23:00:36
Referee: Milorad Mažić (SRB) – Stadium: White Hart Lane, London (ENG)
04/05/2013 23:00:36
Referee: William Collum (SCO) – Stadium: Şükrü Saracoğlu, Istanbul (TUR)
04/15/2013 11:47:27
Referee: Antony Gautier (FRA) – Stadium: Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica, Lisbon (POR)
04/05/2013 23:00:36

Quarter-finals , 2nd leg : 11 April 2013

11 April 2013
Aggregate: 4-5
Referee: Fırat Aydınus (TUR) – Stadium: Stadion Luzhniki, Moscow (RUS)
04/16/2013 14:13:02
Aggregate: 4-4 Basel win 4-1 on penalties
Referee: Olegário Benquerença (POR) – Stadium: St. Jakob-Park, Basel (SUI)
05/08/2013 13:53:20
Aggregate: 1-3
Referee: Pavel Kralovec (CZE) – Stadium: Stadio Olimpico, Rome (ITA)
04/13/2013 10:35:07
Aggregate: 2-4
Referee: Ivan Bebek (CRO) – Stadium: St James' Park, Newcastle (ENG)
04/16/2013 12:54:29

Last updated: 29/03/2015 14:36 CET


Road to the final

The UEFA Europa League comprises three qualifying rounds, a play-off round, a group stage and five knockout rounds.

In matches in the three qualifying rounds and the play-offs, clubs play two matches against each other on a home-and-away basis. The club which scores the greater aggregate of goals qualifies for the next round, with away goals and then penalties used to determine the winner in the event of a draw.

Group stage
The play-off round winners join the ten losers from the UEFA Champions League play-offs and automatic entrants. The clubs are split into 12 groups of four teams, playing home and away against each of their pool opponents between September and December. Two sides from each section advance, proceeding into the round of 32 alongside eight third-placed teams from the UEFA Champions League group stage.

Knockout phase
From the last 32 until the semi-finals, clubs play two games against each other on a home-and-away basis with the same rules as the qualifying and play-off rounds applied. In the last 32, group winners and the four third-placed sides from the UEFA Champions League with the best records are seeded, guaranteeing they will play the second leg at home. Teams from the same group or the same association cannot be drawn together. From the round of 16 onwards the draw is free.

The final is decided by a single match, which this season will be played at the Amsterdam ArenA on Wednesday 15 May.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, can be found in the official competition regulations.

  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA EUROPA LEAGUE word, the UEFA Europa League logo and the UEFA Europa League trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.