Le site officiel du football européen

Leverkusen sur le fil

Publié: Mercredi, 1 juin 1988, 10.30HEC
Leverkusen sur le fil
Erich Ribbeck & Cha Bum-Kun (Bayer 04 Leverkusen) ©Getty Images
Publié: Mercredi, 1 juin 1988, 10.30HEC

Leverkusen sur le fil

Lors de la saison 1987/88, une chose était certaine : il y aurait un nouveau nom sur la Coupe UEFA puisque le Bayer 04 Leverkusen et le RCD Espanyol disputaient tous les deux leur première finale européenne. Les deux équipes étaient dirigées par de futurs sélectionneurs nationaux, Erich Ribbeck et Javier Clemente, et ce ne fut pas une surprise de voir ce match se terminer aux tirs au but.

Maigre récompense
L'aller s'achevait sur le score de 3-0 pour l'Espanyol à Sarrià, grâce à Roberto Losada et Miguel Soler. Et le score en restait là jusqu'à la deuxième mi-temps à Leverkusen. Puis le gardien des Catalans, Thomas Nkono, encaissait trois buts en 24 minutes. Les buteurs : Milton Tita, Falko Götz et Cha Bum-kun. La prolongation était sérile et il fallait donc s'en remettre aux tirs au but, que les Allemands remportaient 3-2. L'Espanyol retombait dans l'ombre de son rival du FC Barcelona, maigre récompense pour une remarquable campagne.

Barcelone battu
Pourtant l'Espanyol avait battu les deux géants de Milan, le Milan AC et l'Internazionale FC, avant d'éliminer le Club Brugge KV en demi-finale. Leverkusen avait été tout aussi impressionnant. Les Allemands ne s'inclinaient qu'à une seule reprise. Le FK Austria Wien, le Toulouse FC, Feyenoord, Barcelone et le SV Werder Bremen, futur champion d'Allemagne, étaient parmi leurs victimes. Même si leur plus gros succès restait la victoire 1-0 à Barcelone en quarts de finale. Les fans de l'Espanyol ne diront pas le contraire.

Mis à jour le: 28/09/14 2.52HEC

http://fr.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=1987/overview/index.html#leverkusen

 

Résultat final

La finale - Aller - 04/05/1988
Espanyol3-0Leverkusen
EspagneEspagne
 
Allemagne de l'OuestAllemagne de l'Ouest
  • Stade: Sarriá
  • Ville: Barcelone (ESP)
La finale - retour - 18/05/1988
Leverkusen3-0Espanyol
Allemagne de l'OuestAllemagne de l'Ouest
 
EspagneEspagne
  • Score cumulé: 3-3
    Leverkusen l'emporte 3-2 aux tirs au but
  • Stade: BayArena
  • Ville: Leverkusen (GER)
demi-finalistes
BremenAllemagne de l'OuestAllemagne de l'Ouest
Club BruggeBelgiqueBelgique
 

Calendrier

The official website for European football

1987/88: Resurgent Leverkusen hold their nerve

Published: Wednesday 1 June 1988, 10.30CET
1987/88: Resurgent Leverkusen hold their nerve
Coach Erich Ribbeck (left) with goalscorer Cha Bum-Kun and the trophy ©Getty Images

Final result

The final - Second leg - 18/05/1988
Leverkusen3-0Espanyol
West GermanyWest Germany
 
SpainSpain
  • Aggregate: 3-3
    Leverkusen win 3-2 on penalties
  • Stadium: BayArena
  • Place: Leverkusen (GER)
The final - First leg - 04/05/1988
Espanyol3-0Leverkusen
SpainSpain
 
West GermanyWest Germany
  • Stadium: Sarriá
  • Place: Barcelona (ESP)
Semi-finalists
BremenWest GermanyWest Germany
Club BruggeBelgiumBelgium
 
 

Calendar

Qualifying

Knockout phase

Final

Published: Wednesday 1 June 1988, 10.30CET

1987/88: Resurgent Leverkusen hold their nerve

RCD Espanyol 3-0 Bayer 04 Leverkusen
(Losada 45 56, Soler 49)
Bayer 04 Leverkusen 3-0 RCD Espanyol
(Tita 57, Götz 63, Cha 81)
(agg: 3-3 aet, Leverkusen win 3-2 on penalties)

There would be a new name on the UEFA Cup in 1987/88 - regardless of the outcome between Bayer 04 Leverkusen and RCD Espanyol. Both were first-time European finalists. Both had future national team coaches as managers in Erich Ribbeck and Javier Clemente. Not surprisingly, then, it took penalties to separate them.

The final first leg ended 3-0 to Espanyol at Sarrià, courtesy of Roberto Losada and Miguel Soler. That was how it stayed until the second half in Leverkusen, where Periquitos goalkeeper Thomas Nkono conceded three goals in 24 minutes to Milton Tita, Falko Götz and Cha Bum-kun. Extra time segued into a shootout, which the German side won 3-2. Espanyol duly returned to the shadow of their city rivals FC Barcelona, which was scant reward for a remarkable campaign.

They had knocked out the Milan giants, Milan AC and Internazionale FC, in consecutive rounds, then edged past Club Brugge KV in the semi-finals. Yet Leverkusen, too, were impressive qualifiers. They lost just once on the way to becoming the third Bundesliga team to lift the trophy. FK Austria Wien, Toulouse FC, Feyenoord, Barcelona and West German champions-elect SV Werder Bremen were among their scalps. Although their greatest triumph was arguably the 1-0 victory at Barcelona in the last eight - not even Espanyol fans would dispute that.

Last updated: 30/04/10 19.02CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=1987/overview/index.html#198788+resurgent+leverkusen+hold+their+nerve

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA EUROPA LEAGUE word, the UEFA Europa League logo and the UEFA Europa League trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.