Le site officiel du football européen

L'Ajax stoppe le Torino

Publié: Lundi, 1 juin 1992, 12.56HEC
L'Ajax stoppe le Torino
AFC Ajax (1992) ©Getty Images
Publié: Lundi, 1 juin 1992, 12.56HEC

L'Ajax stoppe le Torino

Un jour, un commentateur de football écossais a fait remarquer : "On ne gagne rien avec des gamins". En Coupe UEFA 1991/92, nombreux sont ceux qui voulaient prouver que cette théorie était fausse, dont l'AFC Ajax, entraîné par Louis van Gaal et emmené par Dennis Bergkamp, Wim Jonk et Aron Winter. Les Néerlandais n'étaient pas les seuls à avoir une équipe jeune. Le Liverpool FC avait le prometteur Steve McManaman, le Genoa 1893 comptait dans ses rangs le futur international italien Stefano Eranio. Mais c'est le Torino Calcio qui s'est retrouvé face à l'Ajax pour le titre.

Lentini brillant
Emmené par l'ailier Gianluigi Lentini, le Torino atteignait sa première finale européenne aux dépens du KR Reykjavík, du Boavista FC, de l'AEK Athens, du B 1903 København et du Real Madrid CF, battu 3-2 sur l'ensemble des deux matches. Dans le même temps, l'adversaire de l'Ajax en demi-finale était le Genoa, tombeur de Liverpool. Les Italiens refaisaient un déficit de deux buts au stade Luigi Ferraris avant de concéder un but dans les dernières secondes, inscrit par l'international néerlandais Winter. Au match retour, un match nul 1-1 scellait la qualification de l'Ajax.

Triplé de l'Ajax
Ajoutant ainsi une équipe italienne à sa liste de victimes incluant l'Örebro SK FK, le FC Rot-Weiss Erfurt et le KAA Gent, l'Ajax se tournait vers une autre. Et la confrontation se terminait par un nouveau succès, certes par la plus petite des marges : le bénéfice des buts inscrits à l'extérieur. Le match aller à Turin se terminait sur le score de 2-2, Walter Casagrande égalisant après des buts de Jonk et Stefan Pettersson. Au match retour, les deux équipes faisaient 0-0. L'Ajax devenait la première équipe néerlandaise à remporter les trois trophées européens.

Mis à jour le: 28/09/14 2.51HEC

http://fr.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=1991/overview/index.html#lajax+stoppe+torino

 

Résultat final

La finale - Aller - 29/04/1992
Torino2-2Ajax
ItalieItalie
 
Pays-BasPays-Bas
  • Stade: Delle Alpi
  • Ville: Turin (ITA)
La finale - retour - 13/05/1992
Ajax0-0Torino
Pays-BasPays-Bas
 
ItalieItalie
  • Score cumulé: 2-2
    Ajax qualifié grâce aux buts marqués à l'extérieur
  • Stade: Olympisch
  • Ville: Amsterdam (NED)
demi-finalistes
GenoaItalieItalie
Real MadridEspagneEspagne
 

Calendrier

The official website for European football

1991/92: Ajax complete clean sweep

Published: Monday 1 June 1992, 12.56CET
AFC Ajax became only the second team to win all three UEFA club competition, emulating Juventus by coincidentally beating that side's city rivals Torino FC on away goals under Louis van Gaal, the start of a great era.
1991/92: Ajax complete clean sweep
Ajax won the UEFA Cup in 1992 ©Getty Images

Final result

The final - Second leg - 13/05/1992
Ajax0-0Torino
NetherlandsNetherlands
 
ItalyItaly
  • Aggregate: 2-2
    Ajax win on away goals
  • Stadium: Olympisch
  • Place: Amsterdam (NED)
The final - First leg - 29/04/1992
Torino2-2Ajax
ItalyItaly
 
NetherlandsNetherlands
  • Stadium: Delle Alpi
  • Place: Turin (ITA)
Semi-finalists
GenoaItalyItaly
Real MadridSpainSpain
 
 

Calendar

Qualifying

Knockout phase

Final

Published: Monday 1 June 1992, 12.56CET

1991/92: Ajax complete clean sweep

AFC Ajax became only the second team to win all three UEFA club competition, emulating Juventus by coincidentally beating that side's city rivals Torino FC on away goals under Louis van Gaal, the start of a great era.

Torino FC 2-2 AFC Ajax
(Casagrande 65 82; Jonk 17, Pettersson 73p)
AFC Ajax 0-0 Torino FC
(agg: 2-2, Ajax win on away goals)

The 1991/92 UEFA Cup had a youthful feel. Leading the way were AFC Ajax, coached by Louis van Gaal and featuring Dennis Bergkamp, Wim Jonk and Aron Winter. Yet the Amsterdammers were not the only team with a youthful complexion. Liverpool FC had the exciting Steve McManaman; Genoa CFC the future Italian international Stefano Eranio. But it was the tyros of Torino FC who emerged to challenge Ajax for the title.

Spearheaded by winger Gianluigi Lentini, the Granata reached their first European final at the expense of KR Reykjavík, Boavista FC, AEK Athens FC, B 1903 København and Real Madrid CF, beaten 3-2 on aggregate. Meanwhile, Ajax's semi-final opponents were Liverpool's conquerors, Genoa. They clawed back a two-goal deficit at the Stadio Luigi Ferraris only to concede a last-minute winner to Dutch international Winter. A 1-1 draw in the return sealed their fate.

So, having added one Italian side to a list of victims that included Örebro SK, FC Rot-Weiss Erfurt and KAA Gent, Ajax turned their sights on another. Successfully, it transpired, though their victory was only by away goals. The first leg in Turin finished 2-2 with Walter Casagrande cancelling out strikes by Jonk and Stefan Pettersson, the second goalless. Thus Ajax became only the second team after Torino's neighbours Juventus to win all three UEFA club competitions.

Last updated: 30/04/10 19.06CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=1991/overview/index.html#199192+ajax+complete+clean+sweep

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA EUROPA LEAGUE word, the UEFA Europa League logo and the UEFA Europa League trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.