Le site officiel du football européen

2013/14 : Séville rit, Benfica pleure

Publié: Lundi, 26 mai 2014, 19.45HEC
Le Sevilla FC l'a emporté sur le SL Benfica aux tirs au but en finale, au terme d'une saison d'UEFA Europa League riche en émotions.

rate galleryrate photo
1/0
counter
  • loading...
Publié: Lundi, 26 mai 2014, 19.45HEC

2013/14 : Séville rit, Benfica pleure

Le Sevilla FC l'a emporté sur le SL Benfica aux tirs au but en finale, au terme d'une saison d'UEFA Europa League riche en émotions.

Le Sevilla FC s’est fait une place dans l’aristocratie européenne du football à l’issue d’un marathon de 19 matches, 1 770 minutes et 10 mois d’un parcours achevé dans le suspense le plus total.

Les hommes d’Unai Emery ont affronté en finale, à Turin, une équipe du SL Benfica toujours sous le coup de la malédiction prédite par Béla Gutmann. "Jamais dans les cent ans à venir Benfica ne sera champion d’Europe", avait prophétisé le technicien hongrois en quittant le club avec fracas en 1962. 52 ans plus tard, le constat est implacable : malgré huit finales de compétitions UEFA, les Aigles restent bredouilles sur le front continental. De son côté, Séville amasse un troisième trophée européen en neuf saisons.

Qui plus est, c’est le gardien… portugais de Séville, Beto, qui a fait la différence lors de la séance des tirs au but. On note que cette édition a vu un nombre record d’associations être représentées, d’autant que des formations bulgare (PFC Ludogorets Razgrad) et slovène (NK Maribor) ont pour la première passé disputé la phase à élimination directe de l’UEFA Europa League. Le FC Shakhter Karagandy est même devenu le premier représentant du Kazakhstan en phase de groupes d’une compétition UEFA.

On a aussi eu droit à quelques retournements de situation mémorables. Par exemple, le FC Porto a été mené 2-0 puis 3-2 en 16e retour par l’Eintracht Frankfurt, mais il a fini par se qualifier. Idem pour Séville, pourtant malmené 2-0 chez lui par le Real Betis Balompié en huitième aller, mais qualifié au retour, déjà à l’issue des tirs au but. Le pompon revient néanmoins à un autre club espagnol, le Valencia CF, balayé 3-0 par le FC Basel 1893 en quart aller, mais présent dans le dernier carré suite au coup du chapeau réussi par Paco Alcácer au retour.

Les Valenciens ne sont pas passés loin d’un scénario quasi identique en demies, revenant à hauteur de Sévillans - pourtant vainqueurs 2-0 à l’aller - en 26 minutes, avant d’inscrire un troisième but à Mestalla. Sauf que, cette fois-ci, Stéphane Mbia a propulsé, de la tête et à la 94e minute, les Andalous en finale. Dans l’autre demi-finale, choc entre deux équipes reversées de l’UEFA Champions League après la phase de groupes, Benfica a tenu bon face aux assauts de la Juventus, qui souhaitait pourtant ardemment disputer la finale dans son antre.

Les Aigles, finalistes malheureux face au Chelsea FC douze mois plus tôt, sont passés encore plus près du sacre dans le Piémont. Mais il faut croire que la prophétie de Gutmann peut renverser des montagnes.

Mis à jour le: 27/05/14 10.07HEC

http://fr.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=2014/overview/index.html#bilan+201314

 

Résultat final

La finale - 14/05/2014
Sevilla0-0Benfica
EspagneEspagne
 
PortugalPortugal
  • Sevilla l'emporte 4-2 aux tirs au but
  • Stade: Juventus Stadium
  • Ville: Turin (ITA)
demi-finalistes
JuventusItalieItalie
ValenciaEspagneEspagne
 

Calendrier

Éliminatoires

Barrages

Phase de groupes

Phase à élimination directe

Finale

The official website for European football

2013/14: Sevilla leave Benfica dreams in tatters

Published: Monday 26 May 2014, 15.45CET
Sevilla FC kept their cool in the final penalty shoot-out just as SL Benfica seemed to lose theirs to triumph at the end of a campaign when late drama was the norm.

rate galleryrate photo
1/0
counter
  • loading...

Final result

The final - 14/05/2014
Sevilla0-0Benfica
SpainSpain
 
PortugalPortugal
  • Sevilla win 4-2 on penalties
  • Stadium: Juventus Stadium
  • Place: Turin (ITA)
Semi-finalists
JuventusItalyItaly
ValenciaSpainSpain
 
 

Calendar

Qualifying

Play-offs

Group stage

Knockout phase

Final

Published: Monday 26 May 2014, 15.45CET

2013/14: Sevilla leave Benfica dreams in tatters

Sevilla FC kept their cool in the final penalty shoot-out just as SL Benfica seemed to lose theirs to triumph at the end of a campaign when late drama was the norm.

Sevilla FC elevated themselves to a position among European football's aristocracy as their marathon 19-game, 1,770-minute campaign, spanning ten months and plenty of late drama, culminated in a tense triumph.

Unai Emery's men went into the Turin final almost under the radar as SL Benfica and talk of Béla Gutmann's curse dominated pre-match thoughts. "Not in a hundred years from now will Benfica ever be European champions," the Hungarian coach had warned as he stormed out of the club in 1962 after his request for a pay rise was turned down. The following 52 years had borne out his portent: the Eagles had reached seven UEFA finals and lost them all – in Turin it became eight as Sevilla overtook them with a third European trophy in nine seasons.

That it went to penalties, where Portuguese goalkeeper Beto was Sevilla's hero against so many of his compatriots, was fitting for a season always fashionably late – one in seven games featured added-time goals. There were new frontiers, too, with record numbers of member associations represented, and teams from Bulgaria (PFC Ludogorets Razgrad) and Slovenia (NK Maribor) gracing the UEFA Europa League knockout stages for the first time. FC Shakhter Karagandy, vast accumulators of air miles, became Kazakhstan's first representatives in UEFA group stage football.

And there were comebacks. FC Porto trailed 2-0 and 3-2 in the second leg of their round of 32 tie against Eintracht Frankfurt, but still advanced. Sevilla recovered a 2-0 home-leg deficit against Real Betis Balompié in the last 16, getting some early penalty shoot-out practice in the process. Yet it was another Spanish team that earned the title of comeback kings. Valencia CF looked down and out after losing 3-0 at FC Basel 1893 but a Paco Alcácer hat-trick inspired a famous quarter-final triumph.

They almost repeated the feat in the last four, overturning a 2-0 defeat by Sevilla inside 26 minutes and taking the lead on a memorable night at Mestalla. There was a sting in the tail, though, as Stéphane Mbia's 94th-minute header snatched a final place from their grasp. In the other semi, Benfica denied Juventus the home final they so coveted in a meeting between two of the eight sides that transferred from the UEFA Champions League after the group stage.

The Eagles, runners-up to Chelsea FC 12 months earlier, looked set to soar against the backdrop of snow-capped Alpine ridges, to at last shake off Gutmann's curse – Sevilla, though, had other ideas.

Last updated: 26/05/14 16.24CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=2014/overview/index.html#201314+season+review

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA EUROPA LEAGUE word, the UEFA Europa League logo and the UEFA Europa League trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.