Group stage

Group A

Feyenoord Feyenoord11001013
FC Zorya Luhansk FC Zorya Luhansk10101101
Fenerbahçe SK Fenerbahçe SK10101101
Manchester United FC Manchester United FC100101-10

Group B

Olympiacos FC Olympiacos FC11001013
BSC Young Boys BSC Young Boys100101-10
FC Astana FC Astana100112-10

Group C

RSC Anderlecht RSC Anderlecht11003123
1. FSV Mainz 05 1. FSV Mainz 0510101101
AS Saint-Étienne AS Saint-Étienne10101101
Gabala SC Gabala SC100113-20

Group D

FC Zenit FC Zenit11004313
AZ Alkmaar AZ Alkmaar10101101
Dundalk FC Dundalk FC10101101
Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC100134-10

Group E

FK Austria Wien FK Austria Wien11003213
AS Roma AS Roma10101101
FC Viktoria Plzeň FC Viktoria Plzeň10101101
FC Astra Giurgiu FC Astra Giurgiu100123-10

Group F

SK Rapid Wien SK Rapid Wien11003213
US Sassuolo Calcio US Sassuolo Calcio11003033
Athletic Club Athletic Club100103-30
KRC Genk KRC Genk100123-10

Group G

AFC Ajax AFC Ajax11002113
R. Standard de Liège R. Standard de Liège10101101
RC Celta de Vigo RC Celta de Vigo10101101
Panathinaikos FC Panathinaikos FC100112-10

Group H

FC Shakhtar Donetsk FC Shakhtar Donetsk11001013
KAA Gent KAA Gent10101101
SC Braga SC Braga10101101
Konyaspor Konyaspor100101-10

Group I

FC Krasnodar FC Krasnodar11001013
FC Schalke 04 FC Schalke 0411001013
FC Salzburg FC Salzburg100101-10
OGC Nice OGC Nice100101-10

Group J

ACF Fiorentina ACF Fiorentina10100001
FC Slovan Liberec FC Slovan Liberec10102201
Qarabağ FK Qarabağ FK10102201

Group K

Hapoel Beer-Sheva FC Hapoel Beer-Sheva FC11002023
Southampton FC Southampton FC11003033
AC Sparta Praha AC Sparta Praha100103-30
FC Internazionale Milano FC Internazionale Milano100102-20

Group L

Osmanlıspor Osmanlıspor11002023
Villarreal CF Villarreal CF11002113
FC Steaua Bucureşti FC Steaua Bucureşti100102-20
FC Zürich FC Zürich100112-10


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Last updated: 20/09/2016 00:02 CET



  • First qualifying round
    28-30 June 2016
  • First qualifying round
    5-7 July 2016
  • Second qualifying round
    14 July 2016
  • Second qualifying round
    20-21 July 2016
  • Third qualifying round
    28 July 2016
  • Third qualifying round
    4-3 August 2016


  • Play-offs
    17-18 August 2016
  • Play-offs
    25 August 2016

Group stage

  • Matchday 1
    15 September 2016
  • Matchday 2
    29 September 2016
  • Matchday 3
    20 October 2016
  • Matchday 4
    3 November 2016
  • Matchday 5
    24 November 2016
  • Matchday 6
    8 December 2016

Knockout phase

  • Round of 32
    16 February 2017
  • Round of 32
    23 February 2017
  • Round of 16
    9 March 2017
  • Round of 16
    16 March 2017
  • Quarter-finals
    13 April 2017
  • Quarter-finals
    20 April 2017
  • Semi-finals
    4 May 2017
  • Semi-finals
    11 May 2017


  • Final
    24 May 2017

Road to the final

The UEFA Europa League comprises three qualifying rounds, a play-off round, a group stage and five knockout rounds.

In the three qualifying rounds and the play-offs, clubs play two matches against each other on a home-and-away basis. The side that scores the greater aggregate of goals qualifies for the next round, with away goals and then penalties used to determine the winner in the event of a draw.

Group stage
The play-off round winners join the automatic group stage entrants plus the ten losers from the UEFA Champions League play-offs. The teams are split into 12 groups of four, playing home and away against each of their pool opponents between September and December. Two clubs per section advance, proceeding to the round of 32 alongside eight third-placed sides from the UEFA Champions League group phase.

Knockout phase
From the last 32 until the semi-finals, teams face each other on a home-and-away basis with the same rules as the qualifying and play-off rounds applied. In the last 32, the group winners and the four third-placed sides from the UEFA Champions League with the best records are seeded, guaranteeing they play their second leg at home. Clubs from the same group or the same association cannot be drawn together. From the round of 16 onwards the draw is free.

The final is decided by a single game, which this season will be held at Friends Arena, Solna on Wednesday 24 May 2017.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, can be found in the official competition regulations.