Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

1980: Knapper Sieg für Valencia

1980: Knapper Sieg für Valencia

Nottingham Forest FC - Valencia CF 2:1
Valencia CF - Nottingham Forest FC 1:0
(Gesamt: 2:2, Valencia gewinnt aufgrund der Auswärtstorregel)

Nachdem Nottingham Forest FC 1979 den Pokal der europäischen Meistervereine und Anfang des Jahres 1980 auch den UEFA-Superpokal "1979" gewinnen konnte, machten die Engländer den Titel-Hattrick im Endspiel des Europapokals 1980 gegen den Hamburger SV - mit dem englischen Nationalhelden Kevin Keegan - komplett.

Im Finale des UEFA-Superpokals 1980 gegen Valencia CF fand der Siegeszug der Truppe von Brian Clough dann jedoch ein Ende. Das Team von Bernadino Perez Eladiran konnte das bis heute umkämpfteste Duell knapp für sich entscheiden, die Spanier gewannen nur aufgrund der Auswärtstorregel.

Forest wurde nach dem UEFA-Superpokal-Finale im Januar und Februar 1980, das gegen den FC Barcelona gewonnen wurde, die erste Mannschaft, die innerhalb eines Jahres zwei Mal an diesem Wettbewerb teilnahm. Am 25. November gab es im City Ground zunächst einen 2:1-Sieg.

Ian Bowyer erzielte nach 57 Minuten das erste Tor für die Gastgeber, und eine Minute vor dem Schlusspfiff war er noch einmal zur Stelle. Entscheidend sollte am Ende jedoch der Treffer von Valencia werden, den Dario Luis Felman bereits zwei Minuten nach Beginn der zweiten Halbzeit erzielt hatte.

Im Stadion Luis Casanova in Valencia konnte Forest den Titel nicht verteidigen, denn Fernando Morena gelang in der 51. Minute der einzige Treffer des Spiels. Damit wurde Valencia die erste Mannschaft, die den UEFA-Superpokal aufgrund der Auswärtstorregel gewinnen konnte.

http://de.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=1980/index.html#1980+knapper+sieg+valencia

The official website for European football

1980: Valencia profit from Felman's fortune

1980: Valencia profit from Felman's fortune
Darío Felman (centre) celebrates winning the 1980 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup with Valencia ©Getty Images

1980: Valencia profit from Felman's fortune

Nottingham Forest FC 2-1 Valencia CF
Valencia CF 1-0 Nottingham Forest FC
(agg: 2-2, Valencia win on away goals)

Having won the European Champion Clubs' Cup in 1979 and the 1979 UEFA Super Cup - staged at the start of 1980 - Nottingham Forest FC completed a hat-trick of European trophies by beating a Hamburger SV side featuring England hero Kevin Keegan in the final of the 1980 European Cup.

However, the European trail was to run cold for Brian Clough's men when they came up against Valencia CF in the 1980 UEFA Super Cup final, although the margin of victory for Bernadino Pérez's side was to be the narrowest to date, the away-goals rule costing the English side over two legs.

Having played the previous UEFA Super Cup final in January and February 1980, beating FC Barcelona, Forest became the first side to play two UEFA Super Cup finals in the space of a year when they kicked off the 1980 final with a 2-1 victory at the City Ground on 25 November.

Ian Bowyer scored for the home side after 57 minutes and again one minute from time. The key goal, though, was to come from Valencia's Darío Felman who had opened the scoring for the visitors two minutes after half-time.

Felman's was to prove the deciding goal after the second leg in Spain. At the Luis Casanova stadium in Valencia on 17 December, Forest relinquished their UEFA Super Cup crown after they could find no reply to Fernando Morena’s 51st-minute goal. Thus, Valencia became the first side to win the final on the away-goals rule.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=1980/index.html#1980+valencia+profit+from+felmans+fortune

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.