1983: Das Wunder von Aberdeen

Hamburger SV - Aberdeen FC 0:0
Aberdeen FC - Hamburger SV 2:0
(Aberdeen gewinnt nach Hin- und Rückspiel mit 2:0)

Sir Alex Ferguson ist als Trainer von Manchester United FC weltberühmt geworden. Der Höhepunkt war sicherlich der Gewinn der UEFA Champions League 1999. Viele Experten aber halten seinen Triumph als Coach von Aberdeen FC im Pokal der Pokalsieger 1983 für eine noch größere Leistung.

Im Endspiel wartete der eigentlich übermächtige Gegner Real Madrid CF, doch die Schotten gingen gegen die Königlichen durch Eric Black überraschend in Führung. Auch vom Ausgleich durch Juan Gómez González ließ sich Aberdeen nicht schocken und gewann das Finale durch einen Treffer von John Hewitt mit 2:1 nach Verlängerung.

Damit schaffte es das tapfere Team von der Nordostküste Schottlands ins UEFA-Superpokal-Finale gegen den Hamburger SV. Die Norddeutschen gewannen 1983 zum ersten Mal in der Vereinsgeschichte den Pokal der europäischen Meistervereine durch einen 1:0-Sieg im Finale von Athen gegen Juventus FC.

Wieder einmal war Fergusons Aberdeen nur krasser Außenseiter. Dennoch erkämpften sie sich am 22. November 1983 im Hamburger Volksparkstadion ein 0:0 im Hinspiel und verschafften sich damit einen kleinen Vorteil.

Das Rückspiel in Pittodrie endete am 20. Dezember 1983 für die Fans der Dons mit einem vorgezogenen Weihnachtsgeschenk. Nach einer torlosen ersten Halbzeit erzielte Neil Simpson in der 47. Minute die Führung für Aberdeen. Mark McGhee machte dann in der 65. Minute alles klar.

Diese beiden Europapokal-Triumphe ließen das Interesse von United an Ferguson noch größer werden, und die Red Devils lotsten ihn über die Grenze in Richtung Süden. Den gleichen Weg ging Mittelfeldspieler Gordon Strachan, einer der Hauptdarsteller des Wunders von Aberdeen. Ferguson gewann 1991 auch mit ManU den UEFA-Superpokal, scheiterte aber 1999.

Oben

The official website for European football

1983: Ferguson first for Aberdeen

1983: Ferguson first for Aberdeen
Aberdeen celebrate winning the 1983 UEFA Super Cup ©Getty Images

1983: Ferguson first for Aberdeen

Hamburger SV 0-0 Aberdeen FC
Aberdeen FC 2-0 Hamburger SV
(Aberdeen win 2-0 on aggregate)

Sir Alex Ferguson is best known for his years with Manchester United FC, culminating with the Red Devils' triumph in the 1999 UEFA Champions League, but many would argue that winning the 1983 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup with Aberdeen FC was an even greater achievement.

Facing up to Real Madrid CF in the final of the competition, it looked like the Scottish team would be overwhelmed, but they took the lead through Eric Black, and despite an equaliser from Juan Gómez González, would go on to win the game 2-1 through John Hewitt's extra-time goal.

That set the modest side from the north-east of Scotland up for a UEFA Super Cup final clash against Hamburger SV, who had taken the European Champion Clubs' Cup for the first time in 1983 following a 1-0 win against Juventus FC in the final in Athens.

Once more, it looked like an unfair fight for Ferguson's Aberdeen, but they managed to hold on for a goalless draw in the opening leg at the Volksparkstadion in Hamburg on 22 November 1983, so tipping the balance of the tie their way.

Sure enough, the second leg at Pittodrie on 20 December 1983 ended with an early Christmas present for the club's supporters. After a goalless first half, Neil Simpson edged Aberdeen into the lead with a goal two minutes after the resumption, before Mark McGhee made certain of the win with a second after 65 minutes.

That pair of European successes would eventually tempt United to bring Ferguson over the border to Old Trafford, where he would be reunited with another star of the 1983 Aberdeen side, midfield player Gordon Strachan. Ferguson, of course, would go on to win the UEFA Super Cup with United in 1991, but missed his chance to become the first coach to win the competition three times with defeats in 1999 and 2008.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=1983/index.html#1983+ferguson+first+aberdeen

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.