1987: Porto holt sich den Pokal

AFC Ajax - FC Porto 0:1
FC Porto - AFC Ajax 1:0
(Porto gewinnt nach Hin- und Rückspiel mit 2:0)

Das Finale 1986 gab schon einmal einen Vorgeschmack auf zukünftige Endspiele im UEFA-Superpokal (es fand nur ein Spiel auf neutralem Boden im Stade Louis II von Monaco statt). 1987 jedoch wurde das Finale noch einmal im traditionellen Hin-und Rückspiel-Format ausgetragen.

Der FC Porto bestritt dieses Duell als Sieger des Pokals der europäischen Meistervereine. Im Prater-Stadion von Wien gewannen die Portugiesen das Endspiel mit 2:1 gegen den FC Bayern München. Der Gegner im Superpokal-Finale, AFC Ajax, verfügte schon über Erfahrung in diesem Wettbewerb. Die Niederländer nahmen bereits an der ersten Auflage teil und hatten nun eine weitere Chance, den Pokal zu holen, nachdem sie dank des Tores von Marco van Basten im vorangegangenen Mai den Pokal der Pokalsieger gegen den 1. FC Lokomotive Leipzig gewannen.

Im Kader von Ajax standen viele spätere niederländische UEFA-Europameister von 1988, doch der FC Porto sollte in beiden Spielen die Nase vorn behalten.

Rui Barros erzielte am 24. November 1987 das Goldene Tor im Hinspiel in Amsterdam schon nach fünf Minuten.

Das Rückspiel fand erst knapp zwei Monate später im Das-Antas-Stadion in Porto statt. Trotz des Jungstars Dennis Bergkamp schaffte es Ajax nicht, den Spieß noch einmal umzudrehen. Antonio Sousa erzielte 20 Minuten vor Schluss das 1:0 für die Gastgeber und sorgte somit für den 2:0-Gesamtsieg der Portugiesen.

The official website for European football

1987: Sousa makes sure for Porto

1987: Sousa makes sure for Porto
António Sousa scored Porto’s winner at home to Ajax ©Getty Images

1987: Sousa makes sure for Porto

AFC Ajax 0-1 FC Porto
FC Porto 1-0 AFC Ajax
(Porto win 2-0 on aggregate)

The 1986 final had given a taste of what was to come in the UEFA Super Cup (it was played as a one-off game at Monaco's Stade Louis II), but the tournament reverted to its customary two-legged, home-and-away format for the 1987 edition.

Porto went into the match as European champions, having won the European Champion Clubs' Cup thanks to a 2-1 win against FC Bayern München at the Prater stadium in Vienna. Their opponents in the UEFA Super Cup were veterans of the competition, AFC Ajax, who had appeared in the first edition and earned another chance to claim the crown thanks to Marco van Basten's winner against 1. FC Lokomotive Leipzig in the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup final the previous May.

Ajax boasted several members of the Netherlands squad that would go on to win the 1988 UEFA European Championship, but it was to be Porto who stole the show over two legs.

Rui Barros scored the only goal of the first leg in Amsterdam after five minutes on 24 November 1987.

The second leg took place almost two months later at the Das Antas stadium in Porto, but despite the presence of a young Dennis Bergkamp in their starting XI, Ajax could not turn the tide. António Sousa scored 20 minutes from time to seal a 2-0 aggregate win for Porto.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=1987/index.html#1987+sousa+makes+sure+porto

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.