1989: Evani macht Milan glücklich

FC Barcelona - AC Milan 1:1
AC Milan - FC Barcelona 1:0
(Milan gewinnt nach Hin- und Rückspiel mit 2:1)

Der AC Milan gewann den UEFA-Superpokal 1989 zum ersten Mal. Gegner in Hin- und Rückspiel war damals der FC Barcelona. Barça gewann zuvor am 10. Mai 1989 in Bern mit 2:0 gegen UC Sampdoria den Pokal der Pokalsieger. Gegen Milan stellte sich den Katalanen aber eine weitaus schwierigere Aufgabe. Denn die Rossoneri bezwangen im Finale des Pokals der europäischen Meistervereine den FC Steaua Bucuresti klar und deutlich mit 4:0.

Das Superpokal-Finale war geprägt von vielen niederländischen Spielern, die 1988 die UEFA-Europameisterschaft gewannen. Ronald Koeman stand im Hinspiel in Barças Aufstellung, doch seine Landsleute im Mailänder Trikot waren gefährlicher.

Der spätere Barcelona-Coach Frank Rijkaard und der spätere Trainer der Oranje, Marco Van Basten, sollten im Camp Nou dem Hinspiel ihren Stempel aufdrücken. Van Basten schoss am 23. November 1989 das 1:0 für die Gäste eine Minute vor der Halbzeitpause per Elfmeter.

Die Katalanen aber kamen in der 67. Minute durch das Tor von Guillermo Amor zum Ausgleich. Dieses 1:1 sollte jedoch nicht für das Rückspiel in San Siro zwei Wochen später reichen. Alberico Evani schoss in der 55. Minute das entscheidende Tor zum Titelgewinn für Milan.

Oben

The official website for European football

1989: Evani seals Milan triumph

1989: Evani seals Milan triumph
Alberigo Evani's goal won the 1989 UEFA Super Cup for Milan ©Getty Images

1989: Evani seals Milan triumph

FC Barcelona 1-1 AC Milan
AC Milan 1-0 FC Barcelona
(Milan win 2-1 on aggregate)

AC Milan won the UEFA Super Cup for the first time in 1989 after a two-legged success against FC Barcelona. Barça had proved too strong for UC Sampdoria in the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup in Berne on 10 May 1989, running out 2-0 winners, but they were faced with an enormous task against a Milan side who had crushed FC Steaua Bucureşti 4-0 in the European Champion Clubs’ Cup final.

The UEFA Super Cup final was to have something of a Dutch flavour with several members of the Netherlands squad who had won the 1988 UEFA European Championship lining up. Ronald Koeman was in the Barça side for the first leg, but Milan's Dutchmen proved more dangerous.

Future Barcelona coach Frank Rijkaard and future Netherlands coach Marco van Basten traveled to the Camp Nou with Milan for the first leg, and the latter opened the scoring from the penalty spot on 23 November 1989 one minute before half-time.

The Catalan side battled back with Guillermo Amor equalising after 67 minutes, but a 1-1 draw did not augur well for the second leg at the San Siro two weeks later. Alberigo Evani duly scored after 55 minutes to secure the title for Milan.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=1989/index.html#1989+evani+seals+milan+triumph

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.