1992 : Goikoetxea fait gagner le Barça

Andoni Goikoetxea (FC Barcelona)
©Getty Images

Werder Bremen 1-1 FC Barcelona
FC Barcelona 2-1 Werder Bremen
(tot. 3-2)

Le FC Barcelona a remporté sa première Super Coupe de l'UEFA avec une victoire serrée face au Werder Bremen (tot. 3-2). Barcelone avait tenu bon pour remporter une finale tendue dans la Coupe des clubs champions européens contre l'UC Sampdoria en mai de la même année et a fait preuve de la même volonté lors des deux rencontres pour vaincre son adversaire allemand.

Brême avait battu l'AS Monaco FC 2-0 pour décrocher la Coupe des vainqueurs de coupe européenne. Klaus Allofs marquait le second but allemand ce soir-là et il avait également trouvé le chemin des filets ici lors du match aller, égalisant à trois minutes de la fin de la rencontre alors qu'un but de Julio Salinas à la 37e minute semblait avoir offert la victoire au Weserstadion le 10 février.

Un mois plus tard, le Barça reprenait les choses en main au Camp Nou lorsque Hristo Stoitchkov donnait l'avantage à son équipe dès la 32e minute. Wynton Rufer, qui avait également marqué contre Monaco, ramenait Brême dans la partie depuis le point de penalty à quatre minutes de la mi-temps mais, devant 75 000 supporteurs, Andoni Goikoetxea inscrivait le but de la victoire dès la troisième minute de la seconde période.

The official website for European football

1992: Goikoetxea wins it for Barcelona

1992: Goikoetxea wins it for Barcelona
Andoni Goikoetxea's goal settled the 1992 UEFA Super Cup ©Getty Images

1992: Goikoetxea wins it for Barcelona

Werder Bremen 1-1 FC Barcelona
FC Barcelona 2-1 Werder Bremen
(Barcelona win 3-2 on aggregate)

FC Barcelona claimed the UEFA Super Cup for the first time with a narrow 3-2 aggregate victory against Werder Bremen. Barcelona had held their nerve to win a tense European Champion Clubs' Cup final against UC Sampdoria the previous May and they showed that same mettle over two legs to overcome their German rivals.

Bremen had defeated AS Monaco FC 2-0 to lift the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup. Klaus Allofs got the second of the German side's two goals that night and he was on target again in the first leg here, hitting the equaliser three minutes from time after Julio Salinas' 37th-minute strike looked to have won the game at the Weserstadion on 10 February.

One month later, Barcelona reclaimed the initiative at Camp Nou when Hristo Stoitchkov fired his side ahead in the second leg on 32 minutes. Wynton Rufer, who had also scored against Monaco, brought Bremen back into the game from the penalty spot four minutes before the break, but in front of 75,000 Andoni Goikoetxea struck the winner three minutes into the second half.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=1992/index.html#1992+goikoetxea+wins+barcelona

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.