1993 : Parme fait chuter le Milan

Massimo Crippa (AC Milan)
©Getty Images

Parma FC 0-1 AC Milan
AC Milan 0-2 Parma FC (a.p.)
(tot. 2-1)

La Super Coupe de l'UEFA 1993 était 100 % italienne, avec un duel opposant le Parma AC à l'AC Milan. Les Parmesans s'imposaient (tot. 2-1). Les Rossoneri représentaient la Coupe des clubs champions européens, malgré leur défaite en finale contre l'Olympique de Marseille, alors que Parme avait remporté la Coupe des vainqueurs de coupe européenne, en battant le R. Antwerp FC (3-1).

Jean-Pierre Papin avait inscrit l'unique du match aller au Stadio Ennio Tardini, à Parme, mais si les Milanais pensaient que le retour, organisé trois semaines plus tard à San Siro, serait un parcours de santé, ils en auront été pour leurs frais.

Nestor Sensini ouvrait en effet le score pour Parme à la 23e minute pour égaliser sur l'ensemble des deux matches, avant que les défenses ne prennent le pas sur les attaques pour emmener la rencontre en prolongation.

La ligne offensive de l'équipe de Nevio Scala possédait des joueurs talentueux comme Gianfranco Zola, Tomas Brolin et Faustino Asprilla, mais c'est un milieu de terrain connu pour ses tacles, Massimo Crippa, qui allait faire la différence pour les Parmesans à la 95e minute.

Haut

The official website for European football

1993: Crippa wins it for Parma

1993: Crippa wins it for Parma
Massimo Crippa scored the winner in the 1993 UEFA Super Cup ©Getty Images

1993: Crippa wins it for Parma

Parma FC 0-1 AC Milan
AC Milan 0-2 Parma FC (aet)
(Parma win 2-1 on aggregate)

The 1993 UEFA Super Cup was an all-Italian affair with Parma FC edging out AC Milan 2-1 on aggregate. Milan represented the European Champions Clubs' Cup despite having lost to Olympique de Marseille in the final, while Parma qualified courtesy of their 3-1 victory against R. Antwerp FC in the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup.

Jean-Pierre Papin scored the only goal when the two sides met for the first leg at Parma's Stadio Ennio Tardini, but any thoughts Milan had that they would be in for an easy ride at the San Siro three weeks later were soon dispelled.

Nestor Sensini put Parma 1-0 ahead on the night and level overall with a 23rd-minute goal, before the defences took control to force the match into extra-time.

Nevio Scala's side was inspired by the attacking skills of Gianfranco Zola, Tomas Brolin, and Faustino Asprilla but in a tight tie it was the tough-tackling midfielder Massimo Crippa who would win it for Parma with 95 minutes played.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=1993/index.html#1993+crippa+wins+parma

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.