1995: Ajax überrollt Zaragoza

Real Zaragoza - AFC Ajax 1:1
AFC Ajax - Real Zaragoza 4:0
(Ajax gewinnt nach Hin- und Rückspiel mit 5:1)

AFC Ajax gewann den UEFA-Superpokal im Olympiastadion stilvoll gegen Real Zaragoza. Nachdem die Mannschaft aus Amsterdam bereits die erste Auflage dieses Wettbewerbs 1974 gewonnen hatte, holten sich die Niederländer den Titel zum zweiten Mal. Anfang Februar im Stadion La Romareda gelang den Mannen von Louis Van Gaal ein 1:1. Zu Hause aber drehten die jungen Wilden richtig auf.

Ajax begeisterte bereits in der UEFA Champions League die Fans in ganz Europa und gewann durch ein Tor von Patrick Kluivert das Finale im Ernst Happel-Stadion von Wien gegen den AC Milan.

Van Gaal schaffte es, dieses Siegerteam weitestgehend zusammen zu halten, und Kluivert konnte sich auch in Spanien wieder in die Torschützenliste eintragen. Sein Treffer in der 70. Minute sorgte für den Ausgleich, nachdem Aguado Zaragoza in der ersten Halbzeit in Führung gebracht hatte. Da es bei diesem Remis blieb, kehrte Ajax mit einem kleinen Vorteil nach Amsterdam zurück, wo Ende Februar das Rückspiel ausgetragen wurde.

Vor heimischem Publikum besorgte Winston Bogarde die Führung für Ajax in der 43. Minute. Nach der Pause aber kamen die Gastgeber erst richtig auf Touren. Innerhalb einer Viertelstunde gelangen ihnen drei Treffer.

Finidi George in der 54. Minute und zwei verwandelte Elfmeter von Danny Blind entschieden das Duell vor 23 000 Zuschauern.

Im Mai zuvor noch sorgte ein traumhafter Heber von Nayim aus fast 50 Metern Entfernung in der Verlängerung dafür, dass Zaragoza im Finale des Pokals der Pokalsieger Arsenal FC bezwingen konnte, doch gegen Ajax wurde Real auf den Boden der Tatsachen zurückgeholt. Am Ende siegten die Niederländer in der Addition beider Spiele mit 5:1.

The official website for European football

1995: Ajax on a roll

1995: Ajax on a roll
Ajax celebrate winning the 1995 UEFA Super Cup ©Getty Images

1995: Ajax on a roll

Real Zaragoza 1-1 AFC Ajax
AFC Ajax 4-0 Real Zaragoza
(Ajax win 5-1 on aggregate)

AFC Ajax turned on the style against Real Zaragoza at the Olympic stadium to win the UEFA Super Cup for the second time. Ajax, inaugural winners of the competition in 1974, were held to a 1-1 draw at La Romareda in early February, but back in Amsterdam there was no stopping Louis van Gaal's brilliant young side.

Ajax had thrilled Europe on their way to reaching the UEFA Champions League final, where Patrick Kluivert's goal had proved the difference against AC Milan at the Ernst Happel Stadion in Vienna.

Van Gaal had managed largely to keep his European Cup-winning side intact, and Kluivert was back amongst the goals in Spain. His 70th-minute strike cancelled out Xavi Aguado's first-half opener and ensured Ajax returned home for the second leg at the end of February holding a slender advantage.

Back in Amsterdam, Winston Bogarde put Ajax in front two minutes before half-time, and the Dutch side erupted after the break with three goals in 15 minutes.

Finidi George got the first on 54 minutes before a pair of Danny Blind penalties decided the tie in front of 23,000.

Nayim's magical lob from near the half-way line deep into extra-time had defeated Arsenal FC in the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup the previous May, but there were to be no such heroics from Zaragoza in Amsterdam as Ajax strolled to a 5-1 aggregate victory.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=1995/index.html#1995+ajax+roll

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.