1999: Lazios Matchwinner heißt Salas

Manchester United FC - S.S. Lazio 0:1

S.S. Lazio war der letzte Klub, der als Gewinner des Pokals der Pokalsieger am UEFA-Superpokal teilnahm. Dort schlugen den Italiener den amtierenden Europapokalsieger Manchester United FC.

Der Zweite der Serie A schlug im Finale des Pokalsieger-Wettbewerbs im Villa Park zu Birmingham RCD Mallorca mit 2:1. Damit verdiente sich Lazio die Reise nach Monaco, und auch im Fürstentum blieben die Römer erfolgreich. Im Stade Louis II. sorgte der eingewechselte Marcelo Salas für den Sieg.

Der chilenische Stürmer ersetzte den verletzten Simone Inzaghi, der nach einem schlimmen Zusammenprall mit Jaap Stam Mitte der ersten Halbzeit vom Platz getragen werden musste. Salas brauchte nicht lange, um zum entscheidenden Spieler zu avancieren. Ihm gelang das Tor des Tages bereits zehn Minuten vor der Pause.

United hatte im Mai zuvor ganz Europa begeistert mit dem dramatischen Sieg im UEFA-Champions-League-Finale von Barcelona gegen den FC Bayern München. In Monaco konnten sie an diese Leistung aber nicht anknüpfen. Die größte Chance für die Red Devils vergab Teddy Sheringham in der ersten Halbzeit beim Stand von 0:0, als er nach einem Pass von Andy Cole an Lazio-Schlussmann Luca Marchegiani scheiterte.

Roberto Mancini hätte indes für die Entscheidung zu Gunsten der Italiener sorgen können, fand aber in Raimond van der Gouw seinen Meister. Ein Tor sollte den Römern schließlich aber zum Triumph reichen.

Oben

The official website for European football

1999: Salas downs United

1999: Salas downs United
Lazio celebrate winning the 1999 UEFA Super Cup ©Getty Images

1999: Salas downs United

Manchester United FC 0-1 S.S. Lazio
(Salas 35)

S.S. Lazio were the last UEFA Cup Winners' Cup champions to contest the UEFA Super Cup and they signed the competition off on a high with victory against European champions Manchester United FC.

The Serie A runners-up had defeated RCD Mallorca 2-1 in the final UEFA Cup Winners' Cup final at Villa Park in Birmingham to earn their trip to Monaco and they made the most of their opportunity thanks to a goal from substitute Marcelo Salas at the Stade Louis II.

The Chilean international had replaced the injured Simone Inzaghi, taken off after a nasty collision with Jaap Stam midway through the first-half, and needed little to time make his mark, firing in the only goal of the game ten minutes before half-time.

United had thrilled Europe with their dramatic victory against FC Bayern München in the UEFA Champions League final in Barcelona the previous May but they were unable to hit those heights in Monaco. The closest they came was in the first half with the score at 0-0 when Andy Cole put Teddy Sheringham through on goal, but Lazio goalkeeper Luca Marchegiani was quickly off his line to save at the England international's feet.

Roberto Mancini almost had a second goal for Lazio after charging down Raimond van der Gouw's clearance, but one was all the Italian side would need.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=1999/index.html#1999+salas+downs+united

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.