1999: Салас обыграл "МЮ"

"Манчестер Юнайтед" - "Лацио" 0:1
(Салас 35)

"Лацио" стал последним победителем Кубка кубков, выступавшим в Суперкубке УЕФА. В борьбе за этот трофей римляне с минимальным счетом обыграли победителя Лиги чемпионов УЕФА "Манчестер Юнайтед".

Серебряный призер чемпионата Италии в финале Кубка кубков одолел "Мальорку" (2:1) и получил право принимать участие в поединке за Суперкубок УЕФА. В нем итальянскому клубу противостоял победитель Лиги чемпионов "МЮ". В итоге "Лацио" отпраздновал победу благодаря точному удару вышедшего на замену Марсело Саласа.

Нападающий сборной Чили в середине первого тайма заменил Симоне Индзаги, который получил травму в столкновении с защитником англичан Япом Стамом. Салас хорошо вошел в игру и на 10-й минуте второго тайма забил единственный мяч в этой встрече.

В финале Лиги чемпионов "МЮ" в драматичнейшем матче вырвал победу у "Баварии", однако в поединке за Суперкубок УЕФА подопечные сэра Алекса Фергюсона не сумели одолеть "Лацио". В первом тайме при счете 0:0 Энди Коул вывел Тедди Шерингема один на один с Лукой Маркеджани, однако голкипер итальянцев забрал мяч в ногах у игрока сборной Англии.

После гола Саласа у "Лацио" была прекрасная возможность увеличить отрыв, но Роберто Манчини не удалось воспользоваться ошибкой вратаря Раймонда ван дер Гоува. Однако для победы небесно-голубым хватило и одного мяча.

The official website for European football

1999: Salas downs United

1999: Salas downs United
Lazio celebrate winning the 1999 UEFA Super Cup ©Getty Images

1999: Salas downs United

Manchester United FC 0-1 S.S. Lazio
(Salas 35)

S.S. Lazio were the last UEFA Cup Winners' Cup champions to contest the UEFA Super Cup and they signed the competition off on a high with victory against European champions Manchester United FC.

The Serie A runners-up had defeated RCD Mallorca 2-1 in the final UEFA Cup Winners' Cup final at Villa Park in Birmingham to earn their trip to Monaco and they made the most of their opportunity thanks to a goal from substitute Marcelo Salas at the Stade Louis II.

The Chilean international had replaced the injured Simone Inzaghi, taken off after a nasty collision with Jaap Stam midway through the first-half, and needed little to time make his mark, firing in the only goal of the game ten minutes before half-time.

United had thrilled Europe with their dramatic victory against FC Bayern München in the UEFA Champions League final in Barcelona the previous May but they were unable to hit those heights in Monaco. The closest they came was in the first half with the score at 0-0 when Andy Cole put Teddy Sheringham through on goal, but Lazio goalkeeper Luca Marchegiani was quickly off his line to save at the England international's feet.

Roberto Mancini almost had a second goal for Lazio after charging down Raimond van der Gouw's clearance, but one was all the Italian side would need.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=1999/index.html#1999+salas+downs+united

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.