2000 : Jardel séduit à Galatasaray

Galatasaray sacré en 2000

Real Madrid CF 1-2 Galatasaray AŞ, a.p.
(Raúl 79e ; Jardel 41e pen, 102e)

La nouvelle recrue du Galatasaray SK Mário Jardel a étalé toutes ses qualités en inscrivant notamment le but en or, offrant la Super Coupe de l'UEFA aux Turcs aux dépens du Real Madrid CF.

Le club turc était le premier vainqueur de la Coupe UEFA à participer à la compétition après la fin de la Coupe des vainqueurs de coupe européenne de l'UEFA. Ils en profitaient pleinement pour prendre la mesure des champions d'Europe en s'imposant 2-1 au stade Louis II.

Galatasaray était devenu le premier club turc à remporter un trophée européen grâce à sa victoire face à l'Arsenal FC en mai, et deux buts de Járdel, recruté à l'intersaison en provenance du FC Porto, permettaient de garnir la salle des trophées. Járdel n'était pas le seul nouveau venu dans les rangs du Gala. Fatih Terim était parti à l'ACF Fiorentina après avoir orchestré la victoire turque en Coupe UEFA, et c'est à Mircea Lucescu qu'échoyait la tâche de diriger l'équipe à Monaco.

Lucescu retrouvait ses compatriotes Gheorghe Popescu et Gheorghe Hagi, amenant de l'expérience à une équipe pratiquement inchangée depuis son sacre à Copenhague trois mois plus tôt. Járdel donnait l'avantage à Galatasaray en convertissant un penalty à cinq minutes de la pause après une faute d'Ivan Campo sur Hakan Ünsal.

Madrid était au sommet de son art lors de la finale de l'UEFA Champions League à Paris. Des buts de Fernando Morientes, Steve McManaman et Raúl González avaient permis aux Madrilènes de venir aisément à bout du Valencia CF au Stade de France. Avec seulement cinq joueurs à avoir disputé cette finale alignés à Monaco, le Real souffrait face aux Turcs.

Le but inscrit par Jardel semblait suffire jusqu'à 12 minutes du terme lorsque Bülent Korkmaz touchait de la main un ballon adressé dans la surface par Sávio. Raúl se chargeait du penalty et poussait les Turcs jusqu'en prolongation.

Mais Galatasaray allait trouver les ressources pour s'imposer. A la 103e minute, Fatih Akyel centrait à ras de terre et trouvait Jardel qui trompait Iker Casillas.

Haut

The official website for European football

2000: Jardel doubles up for Galatasaray

2000: Jardel doubles up for Galatasaray
Galatasaray were celebrating UEFA Super Cup success in 2000 ©Getty Images

2000: Jardel doubles up for Galatasaray

Real Madrid CF 1-2 Galatasaray AŞ, aet
(Raúl 79; Jardel 41pen, 102)

New signing Mário Jardel proved an instant hit with Galatasaray AŞ by scoring the golden goal that won the UEFA Super Cup at Real Madrid CF's expense.

The Turkish side were the first UEFA Cup winners to take part in the competition following the demise of the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, and they took full advantage with a 2-1 victory against the European champions at Stade Louis II.

Galatasaray had become the first Turkish team to lift a European trophy with their defeat of Arsenal FC the previous May, and two strikes from Jardel, a summer signing from FC Porto, added another to their collection. Jardel was not the only new face in the Galatasaray ranks. Fatih Terim had moved to ACF Fiorentina after masterminding their UEFA Cup success, and it was left to Mircea Lucescu to emulate that feat in Monaco.

Lucescu joined fellow Romanians Gheorghe Popescu and Gheorghe Hagi, who brought experience to a side largely unchanged from the Copenhagen final three months earlier. Jardel was the notable addition and he swept Galatasaray in front from the penalty spot five minutes before the break after Iván Campo had impeded Hakan Ünsal in the penalty area.

Madrid had been at their stunning best in the UEFA Champions League final in Paris. Goals from Fernando Morientes, Steve McManaman and Raúl González had easily brushed aside Valencia CF's challenge at the Stade de France, but fielding just five of that side in Monaco, they struggled to hit their stride.

Jardel's first-half strike looked likely to decide the game until 12 minutes from time when Suat Kaya was adjudged to have handled Sávio's cross as it sped into the box. Up stepped Raúl to send the match into extra-time.

Galatasaray, however, were not to be denied their victory. With 103 minutes played Fatih Akyel crossed low into the area where Jardel was on hand to turn the ball past Iker Casillas. Galatasaray's glorious summer was complete.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=2000/index.html#2000+jardel+doubles+galatasaray

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.