Le site officiel du football européen

2001 : Owen lance les Reds

2001 : Owen lance les Reds
Liverpool est sacré à Monaco ©Getty Images

2001 : Owen lance les Reds

FC Bayern München 2-3 Liverpool FC
(Salihamidžić 57e, Jancker 82e ; Riise 23e, Heskey 45e, Owen 46e)

"Michael Owen est un joueur de classe mondiale et nous n'avons pas été en mesure de contrer cette menace." L'entraîneur du FC Bayern München Ottmar Hitzfeld n'a pas hésité quand on lui demandait la différence entre les deux équipes après la très belle victoire 3-2 du Liverpool FC en Super Coupe de l'UEFA à Monaco.

Owen inscrivait un but après en avoir offert un autre pour les vainqueurs de la Coupe UEFA, qui retrouvaient leur sens du but après leur victoire éclatante 5-4 face au Deportivo Alavés au mois de mai à Dortmund. Liverpool, qui avait également remporté la Coupe d'Angleterre et la FA Cup la saison précédente, n'avait pas eu besoin de forcer son talent pour regagner les vestiaires avec une avance de 2-0 au marquoir à la mi-temps face aux champions d'Europe.

Owen était dans une forme époustouflante et offrait le premier but à la recrue John Arne Riise. Le Norvégien reprenait en glissade un centre à ras de terre de l'attaquant de poche en milieu de première mi-temps. Les Reds doublaient leur avantage peu avant la pause, lorsque Emile Heskey se débarrassait de Thomas Linke et Robert Kovac avant d'envoyer le ballon au fond des filets d'Oliver Kahn.

La rencontre semblait pliée à la reprise, lorsque, après quelques minutes, Owen trompait Kahn sur un long ballon de Jamie Carragher. Avec trois buts d'avance, les Anglais décidaient de laisser le Bayern agir. Jusque-là incapables de tirer au but, les Allemands, vainqueurs de l'UEFA Champions League aux tirs au but face au Valencia CF, faisaient de leur mieux pour remonter deux buts.

Hasan Salihamidzic redonnait d'abord espoir à la 57e minute sur un corner botté par Owen Hargreaves avant que le remplaçant Carsten Jancker ne relance le suspense en lobant Sander Westerveld à huit minutes du coup de sifflet final. Malgré la montée de Kahn dans le rectangle adverse en fin de match, les Munichois se montraient incapables d'égaliser.

http://fr.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=2001/index.html#2001+owen+lance+reds

The official website for European football

2001: Owen keeps Reds rolling

2001: Owen keeps Reds rolling
Liverpool celebrate winning the 2001 UEFA Super Cup ©Getty Images

2001: Owen keeps Reds rolling

FC Bayern München 2-3 Liverpool FC
(Salihamidžić 57, Jancker 82; Riise 23, Heskey 45, Owen 46)

"Michael Owen is a world class player and we simply could not counter his threat." FC Bayern München coach Ottmar Hitzfeld was in no doubt about the difference between the sides as Liverpool FC added the UEFA Super Cup to the glittering array of silverware they had collected over the previous six months with a 3-2 victory in Monaco.

Owen scored one and set up another for the UEFA Cup winners who were back in the goals following their thrilling 5-4 victory against Deportivo Alavés the previous May in Dortmund. Liverpool, who had also won the English League Cup and FA Cup the previous season, did not need to hit such heights to go into half-time 2-0 in front against the European champions.

Owen was in scintillating form and he set up new signing John Arne Riise for the first, the Norwegian sliding in to meet the striker's low cross at the far post midway through the half. Liverpool doubled their lead moments before the interval when Emile Heskey breezed past Thomas Linke and Robert Kovač before shooting beyond Oliver Kahn in the Bayern goal.

The game looked effectively finished within a minute of the restart as Owen beat Kahn after latching onto Jamie Carragher's long pass. However, three goals up and coasting, Liverpool sat back and invited a Bayern comeback. Having offered no shots on goal while Liverpool built their three-goal lead, Bayern, winners on penalties against Valencia CF in the UEFA Champions League final, did their best to make up for lost ground by scoring with two headed goals.

Hasan Salihamidžić provided initial hope in the 57th minute when he nodded in Owen Hargreaves' corner and then substitute Carsten Jancker ensured a rousing finale when he looped the ball over Sander Westerveld with eight minutes to go. However, despite Kahn's presence in Liverpool's penalty area late in the game, an equaliser never looked likely.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=2001/index.html#2001+owen+keeps+reds+rolling

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.