2003: Shevchenko sorgt für Glanzlicht

©Getty Images

AC Milan - FC Porto 1:0
(10. Shevchenko)

Der UEFA-Superpokal 2003 war ein Ausdruck der Kräfteverhältnisse im europäischen Fußball.

Der AC Milan ging als amtierender UEFA-Champions-League-Sieger in diese Partie im Stade Louis II, doch am Ende des Jahres sollte der Gegner, der FC Porto, in der europäischen Königsklasse triumphieren.

Portos Trainer José Mourinho hatte mit dem hart erkämpften 3:2-Erfolg gegen Celtic FC im UEFA-Pokal-Endspiel zum ersten Mal auf sich aufmerksam gemacht, und nach der Begegnung in Monaco hatte er erneut allen Grund, stolz auf seine Mannschaft zu sein. Milan siegte zwar mit 1:0, doch Mourinho war mit der Leistung seines Teams zufrieden. "Wir haben gesehen, dass wir durchaus in der Lage sind, in der UEFA Champions League mit jeder Mannschaft mitzuhalten", sagte er. Neun Monate später hat er das endgültig bewiesen.

Vor dem sensationellen Durchmarsch von Porto war es jedoch der AC Milan, der dank Andriy Shevchenko in der Sonne von Monaco jubeln durfte.

Der ukrainische Angreifer hatte bereits im UEFA-Champions-League-Endspiel im Mai gegen Juventus im Elfmeterschießen den entscheidenden Schuss verwandelt. In Monaco war der einzige Angreifer der Rossoneri dann erneut zur Stelle, sein Tor reichte zum Sieg gegen Porto.

Die Truppe von Carlo Ancelotti spielte mit dem gleichen Einsatz und der Begeisterung wie in der ganzen Saison, und ihr Engagement zahlte sich schon nach wenigen Minuten aus. Rui Costa, der gegen seine Landsleute im rechten Mittelfeld eine herausragende Leistung bot, bereitete den Treffer vor, indem er Ricardo Costa entwischte und eine herrliche Flanke auf Shevchenko schlug. Dessen Kopfball aus zehn Metern segelte unhaltbar in die Maschen.

Shevchenko sorgte in dieser Partie, in der beide Teams gute Möglichkeiten hatten, für das Glanzlicht. Der torgefährliche Ukrainer bereitete Chancen für Filippo Inzaghi, Clarence Seedorf und Rui Costa vor, doch auch Porto war immer wieder gefährlich, angeführt von Deco und Maniche.

Die erfahrene Defensive von Milan schaffte es jedoch, das 1:0 zu verteidigen. Die Truppe von Mourinho musste aber nicht traurig sein, denn kurz nach dieser Partie begann die neue - und am Ende so erfolgreiche - UEFA-Champions-League-Saison.

The official website for European football

2003: Shevchenko steals the show

2003: Shevchenko steals the show
Milan celebrate winning the UEFA Super Cup in 2003 ©Getty Images

2003: Shevchenko steals the show

AC Milan 1-0 FC Porto
(Shevchenko 10)

The 2003 UEFA Super Cup represented, in hindsight, a shift in the balance of power in European football.

AC Milan may have come into the match as European champions, but it was their opponents at the Stade Louis II, FC Porto, who would replace them as the continent's top side come the end of the season.

Porto coach José Mourinho had announced himself on the European stage in May with a thrilling 3-2 victory against Celtic FC in the UEFA Cup final, and after another absorbing match in Monaco he had every reason to hold his head up high. Milan won 1-0, but still Mourinho liked what he had seen. "We leave here convinced we can go into the UEFA Champions League with the hope and certainty we can compete with any team," he said. Nine months later he had proved just that.

Before Porto's spectacular story would unfurl, however, Milan would enjoy one more moment in the Monaco sun, thanks largely to Andriy Shevchenko.

The Ukrainian striker had scored the deciding penalty in the shoot-out against Juventus that won the Rossoneri the UEFA Champions League in May, and he was at it again in Monaco where his lone strike was enough to see off Porto's challenge.

Carlo Ancelotti's European champions played with the verve and style that had set them apart the previous season and their early pressure soon told. Rui Costa, in imperious form on the right side of midfield against his countrymen, was the architect of the goal. He twisted and turned away from his namesake Ricardo Costa, then delivered a perfect cross that was headed in by Shevchenko on ten minutes.

Shevchenko shone brightest during a rousing contest that saw both sides create chances. His vision with a pass was as true as his eye for goal and Filippo Inzaghi, Clarence Seedorf and Rui Costa might all have done better with chances initiated by the striker.

Porto, however, weathered the storm and then started creating chances of their own, inspired by Deco and Maniche who both grew in stature as the game progressed. Milan's experienced back line, however, held firm to win 1-0. With the UEFA Champions League about to begin, Mourinho's charges would not be denied for long.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=2003/index.html#2003+shevchenko+steals+show

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.