2004 : Baraja porte Valence aux nues

©Getty Images

FC Porto 1-2 Valencia CF
(Quaresma 78e ; Baraja 33e, Di Vaio 67e)

Le FC Porto et le Valencia CF pouvaient compter sur deux nouveaux entraîneurs pour cette édition 2004 de la Super Coupe de l'UEFA. C'est Claudio Ranieri qui semblait le mieux acclimaté à ses nouvelles fonctions et les champions d'Espagne décrochaient le premier trophée de la saison.

Ranieri avait remplacé Rafa Benítez à la tête du club qui s'était imposé en Coupe UEFA face à l'Olympique de Marseille, et a admis devoir beaucoup à son prédécesseur au sortir de la victoire 2-1 de Valence. "Rafa Benítez m'a transmis une très belle équipe", avait-il déclaré. "J'ai de la chance de compter sur des joueurs qui peuvent se trouver les yeux fermés."

Ranieri avait aligné les nouvelles recrues italiennes Bernardo Corradi et Marco di Vaio, mais c'est l'icône de Valence Rubén Baraja, l'homme à tout faire de la saison précédente, qui marquerait une fois de plus la rencontre de son empreinte.

À la 32e minute, il trouvait l'ouverture sur un centre de Curro torres qu'il reprenait d'une tête puissante sur laquelle Vitor Baía ne pouvait rien.

Le deuxième but de Valence tombait à l'heure de jeu. Vicente Rodriguez était à la base de l'action et trouvait Di Vaio au second poteau, qui reprenait victorieusement de la tête via le poteau. Valence déroulait et seule la barre transversale empêchait Baraja d'inscrire un nouveau but de la tête.

Porto disputait la Super Coupe de l'UEFA pour la deuxième année consécutive et espérait se racheter après la défaite 1-0 face à l'AC Milan la saison précédente. Les vainqueurs de l'UEFA Champions League étaient désormais entraînés par l'Espagnol Victor Fernández et passaient par une phase de transition après le départ de plusieurs joueurs clés à l'intersaison.

L'esprit combatif qui les avait menés à la victoire face à l'AS Monaco FC en mai ne les avait toutefois pas quittés. Après une tête de Maniche au dessus du cadre, Ricardo Quaresma réduisait le score à 12 minutes du terme. Ce splendide but n'empêchait pourtant pas les Portugais de subir leur deuxième défaite consécutive en Super Coupe de l'UEFA.

Haut

The official website for European football

2004: Baraja brings joy to Valencia

2004: Baraja brings joy to Valencia
Valencia celebrate winning the 2004 UEFA Super Cup ©Getty Images

2004: Baraja brings joy to Valencia

FC Porto 1-2 Valencia CF
(Quaresma 78; Baraja 33, Di Vaio 67)

Both FC Porto and Valencia CF had new coaches on the bench for the 2004 UEFA Super Cup final and Claudio Ranieri was soon looking comfortable in his new surroundings as the Spanish champions made off with the first piece of silverware of the new European season.

Ranieri had replaced Rafael Benítez at the helm of the UEFA Cup winners following their triumph in the final against Olympique de Marseille, but he admitted he owed a debt of gratitude to his predecessor after Valencia had secured a 2-1 victory. "I have received a great team from Rafa Benítez," he said. "I'm lucky to have a team that can play with its eyes shut."

Ranieri had introduced new Italian signings Bernardo Corradi and Marco di Vaio, but it was Valencia talisman Rubén Baraja, Valencia's driving force the previous season, who again proved their catalyst here.

On 32 minutes he opened the scoring with a powerful header, meeting Curro Torres's cross firmly from close to the penalty spot and sending it flying past the right arm of Vitor Baía.

Valencia's second goal came midway through the second half. Vicente Rodríguez was the architect with a superb delivery to the far post where Di Vaio's header directed the ball in off the woodwork. Valencia had discovered their fluency, and only the crossbar denied Baraja a third goal from another headed opportunity.

Porto were back in the UEFA Super Cup for the second year in succession, looking to make amends for their 1-0 defeat by Milan in 2003. The UEFA Champions League winners now had Spaniard Victor Fernández at the helm, but were in a period of transition following the departures of several key players during the summer.

The fight that had seem them to victory over AS Monaco FC the previous May, however, had not deserted them. After Maniche had sent a free header over the bar, Ricardo Quaresma reduced the deficit with 12 minutes to play. It was a fabulous drive from 25 metres, but not enough to prevent a second successive Super Cup defeat for Porto.

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=2004/index.html#2004+baraja+brings+valencia

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.