Официальный сайт европейского футбола

2008: Первопроходцы из Санкт-Петербурга

2008: Первопроходцы из Санкт-Петербурга

"Манчестер Юнайтед" - "Зенит" 1:2
(Видич 73; Погребняк 44, Данни 59)

"Зенит" показал блестящую командную игру и впервые завоевал Суперкубок УЕФА. Ворота "Манчестер Юнайтед" в Монако поразили Павел Погребняк и дебютант питерцев Данни.

Весна и лето 2008 года получились незабываемыми для российского футбола: в мае "Зенит" стал обладателем Кубка УЕФА, а немногим позже сборная России сенсационно дошла до полуфинала ЕВРО-2008™. В Монте-Карло питерская команда вписала еще одну славную страницу в спортивную историю своей страны. Оба гола оказались в активе футболистов с предельно высокой мотивацией.

Первый за минуту до перерыва головой забил Погребняк, пропустивший финал Кубка УЕФА и ЕВРО из-за дисквалификации и травмы соответственно. Второй мяч на 59-й минуте провел Данни, который в своем дебютном матче за "Зенит" был признан лучшим игроком встречи.

Хотя Неманья Видич сократил отставание, на большее англичан не хватило. Ближе к финальному свистку Пол Скоулз получил красную карточку, и "Зенит" в итоге удержал победный результат.

"Думаю, если вы посмотрите на моменты, которые мы создали, то скажете, что наша победа была заслуженной, - заявил наставник "Зенита" Дик Адвокаат, под чьим началом впервые клуб из России завоевал почетный трофей. - Начало было немного трудным, так как в первые 15 минут у нас были проблемы с движением нападающих. С определенного момента мы стали контролировать ход игры и создавать моменты, однако забили недостаточно. Сегодня мы всем дали понять, чего можно ожидать от "Зенита".

Тренер "Манчестер Юнайтед" сэр Алекс Фергюсон высказался в схожем ключе: "Думаю, нельзя отрицать, что "Зенит" заслужил победу в этом матче. Можно сказать, что он скрывал от нас свою истинную силу, но я бы не хотел говорить об этом. При счете 0:2 мы играли лучше, начали создавать хорошие моменты, а после гола у нас оставалось достаточно времени, чтобы спасти матч. Это была хорошая и открытая игра, команды здорово отработали этим жарким вечером. Я хотел бы поздравить "Зенит" с победой".

http://ru.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=2008/index.html#2008+первопроходцы+санкт+петербурга

The official website for European football

2008: Zenit claim Russian first

FC Zenit St Petersburg capped a memorable summer for Russian football with a fine display of passing football to defeat Manchester United FC 2-1 in Monaco.

This content is streamed in such a way that it is protected and available only in a Flash format. Your device seems not to be compatible with our Flash video player.

2008: Zenit claim Russian first

FC Zenit St Petersburg capped a memorable summer for Russian football with a fine display of passing football to defeat Manchester United FC 2-1 in Monaco.

Manchester United FC 1-2 FC Zenit St. Petersburg
(Vidić 73; Pogrebnyak 44, Danny 59)

FC Zenit St. Petersburg produced a fine display of passing football to claim the UEFA Super Cup for the first time, a goal in each half from Pavel Pogrebnyak and debutant Danny securing victory against Manchester United FC in Monaco.

It had been a memorable few months for Russian football, Zenit's UEFA Cup triumph in May preceding the national side's run to the UEFA EURO 2008 semi-finals, and the St Petersburg club wrote another proud chapter in their history in Monte Carlo, both goals coming from players with particular motivation to shine.

Pogrebnyak, who missed both the UEFA Cup final and EURO through suspension and injury respectively, headed the first a minute before half-time and man of the match Danny marked his first game with a goal in the 59th minute.

Although Nemanja Vidić halved the deficit, United had left themselves too much to do and Paul Scholes became the first player to be sent off in the fixture late on as Zenit held on to add another trophy ahead of their maiden UEFA Champions League campaign.

"I think if you see the chances we created it was a deserved win," said Dick Advocaat, whose side became the first Russian winners of the competition. "The start was a bit difficult as for 15 minutes we had some problems with the movement of the strikers. From a certain moment we started controlling things and creating chances, although we didn't score enough. Tonight we gave a warning so people can know what to expect."

United counterpart Sir Alex Ferguson concurred, saying: "I think you can't deny that Zenit deserved to win the game. They probably shaded it from us, although there was not much in it. We played better at 2-0 down, created more good chances, and when we scored there was still plenty of time to recover and get back into it. It was a good open game, the teams put in a lot of work on a hot night. I'd like to congratulate St Petersburg on their victory."

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=2008/index.html#zenits+2008+super+cup

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.