2012: Falcao besiegt Chelsea

Club Atlético de Madrid holte zum zweiten Mal in drei Jahren den UEFA-Superpokal, nachdem Falcao gegen Europapokalsieger Chelsea FC groß aufspielte.

Club Atlético de Madrid celebrate
©Getty Images

Chelsea FC - Club Atlético de Madrid 1:4
(75. Cahill; 6., 19., 45. Falcao, 60. Miranda)

Für Europapokalsieger Chelsea FC war gegen Falcao kein Kraut gewachsen und so schoss der Kolumbianer Club Atlético de Madrid mit einem lupenreinen Hattrick in Monaco zum zweiten Titel innerhalb von drei Jahren.

Drei Monate zuvor kam Chelsea nicht mehr aus dem Träumen heraus, nachdem sie zum ersten Mal den Europapokal gewonnen hatten, doch der zweite internationale Pokal blieb ihnen verwehrt, nachdem Falcao in der ersten Halbzeit einen Dreierpack erzielt hatte.

Das Spiel war längst gelaufen, doch die Spanier legten nach einer Stunde in Person von Miranda, der Petr Čech aus kurzer Distanz überwinden konnte, noch einen oben drauf. 15 Minuten vor Schluss erzielte Gary Cahill noch den Ehrentreffer und gleichzeitig das letzte Tor im Stade Louis II - 15 Jahre nachdem die Blues den Pokal dort als erstes Team gewannen.

Atlético-Trainer Diego Simeone fasste das Spiel und die Leistung von Falcao in Monaco folgendermaßen zusammen: "Ich bin sprachlos, ich kann es kaum beschreiben. Was er macht, ist absoluter Wahnsinn. Egal wie hoch man die Messlatte setzt, er übertrifft sie stets aufs Neue."

Chelsea-Trainer Roberto Di Matteo fügte hinzu: "Wir haben im Vorfeld gesagt, er ist einer der besten Stürmer in Europa. Das hat er heute wieder eindrucksvoll unter Beweis gestellt."

The official website for European football

2012: Falcao blows Chelsea away

Club Atlético de Madrid won their second UEFA Super Cup in three years after a virtuoso display by Falcao stunned European champions Chelsea FC.
2012: Falcao blows Chelsea away
Club Atlético de Madrid celebrate ©Getty Images

2012: Falcao blows Chelsea away

Club Atlético de Madrid won their second UEFA Super Cup in three years after a virtuoso display by Falcao stunned European champions Chelsea FC.

Chelsea FC 1-4 Club Atlético de Madrid
(Cahill 75; Falcao 6, 19, 45, Miranda 60)

European champions Chelsea FC had no answer to the brilliance of Falcao after the Colombian striker hit a superb hat-trick to help Club Atlético de Madrid to a second UEFA Super Cup in three years in the final edition of the game in Monaco.

Chelsea were in dreamland three months earlier as they won the European Cup for the first time, but could not follow up with a second piece of continental silverware after Falcao struck a treble before half-time in the principality.

If the game was not over then, the Mattress Makers put Chelsea to bed on the hour as Miranda clipped the fourth over Petr Čech from close range. With 15 minutes left Gary Cahill poked in what proved to be the final UEFA Super Cup goal to be scored at the Stade Louis II 15 years after the Blues became the first club to lift the trophy there.

Atlético coach Diego Simeone summed up what most observers in Monaco thought of Falcao's performance when he said: "I'm speechless. I really can't describe it. What he is doing is indescribable. He's a lad that whenever you set the bar high he sets it higher and rises to the occasion."

Chelsea manager Roberto Di Matteo added: "We said before that he is one of the top strikers in European football and he showed it again with the second goal, which was a very good strike."

http://www.uefa.com/uefasupercup/history/season=2012/index.html#2012+falcao+blows+chelsea+away

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Super Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.