The official website for European football

Poland pick up the prize

Poland had suffered several final defeats before they eventually broke their duck by taking the U16 title in 1993.
Poland pick up the prize
Poland's Artur Wichniarek became a full international and starred in Germany with Arminia and Hertha Berlin ©Getty Images

Poland pick up the prize

Poland had suffered several final defeats before they eventually broke their duck by taking the U16 title in 1993.

Poland had suffered defeats in finals of the International Youth Tournament and UEFA European Under-18 Championship before they broke their duck by taking the U16 title in 1993.

Holders Germany saw their reign ended in qualifying with a 3-2 aggregate defeat by Spain - who as defending champions had lost in the previous final. The 16 qualifiers then gathered in Turkey, with a change to the format - the top two now progressing from each group to a new quarter-final round.

In Group A that extra place proved valuable for Switzerland. They started by drawing 1-1 with Poland while Iceland beat Northern Ireland 6-2, a game that was 2-2 at the break. However, Iceland then lost 2-0 to Poland while Northern Ireland held Switzerland 1-1. With Poland defeating Northern Ireland 1-0 to win the group, that meant the Swiss needed to defeat Iceland, and did so with a 36th-minute Johann Vogel goal.

Hosts Turkey lost their Group B opener 1-0 to Spain while neighbouring Greece fell 2-0 to Hungary. Spain then scored the only goal against Greece, as did Turkey versus Hungary. The Hungarians overcame Spain 2-1 on the final day, and they went through in that order after Turkey and Greece drew 2-2.

England trailed for a matter of seconds in their first Group C game before responding to draw 1-1 against Belgium, allowing Czechoslovakia to go top as they beat the Republic of Ireland 2-1. There were no goals between the Czechoslovakians and Belgium, but England defeated Ireland 1-0. However, a 2-0 loss by England against Czechoslovakia - who won the group - ensured Belgium's 2-1 win against Ireland took them through.

Italy progressed in Group D with a game to spare thanks to 2-1 wins against Portugal and Russia. France then held them 1-1 to go through in second place, having beaten Portugal 3-1 and finished a goal apiece against Russia, who were also held 1-1 by Portugal.

Two quarter-finals finished 3-0 - Czechoslovakia and France brushing aside Switzerland and Hungary respectively - while after goalless draws Poland and Italy ended Belgium and Spain's challenge on penalties. In the last four Poland defeated France 2-1 in extra time thanks to Artur Andruszczak's winner, but Italy again needed spot-kicks to progress, beating Czechoslovakia 5-4 after a 0-0 draw.

Czechoslovakia gained third place as they game from behind to beat France 2-1 with Miroslav Vápeník's injury-time goal, and the title was Poland's against Italy courtesy of a first-half Marcin Szulik strike. In the subsequent FIFA U-17 World Championship in Japan, Italy fell in the group stage, Czechoslovakia in the quarter-finals and Poland reached the last four, losing to Nigeria.

  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-17 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.