Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

2014: Steven Bergwijn

Der niederländische Angreifer Steven Bergwijn krönte eine starke UEFA-U17-EM mit einer grandiosen Torvorlage im Endspiel gegen England.
von Tom Kell
2014: Steven Bergwijn
Der Niederländer Steven Bergwijn bei der Endrunde auf Malta ©Sportsfile

2014: Steven Bergwijn

Der niederländische Angreifer Steven Bergwijn krönte eine starke UEFA-U17-EM mit einer grandiosen Torvorlage im Endspiel gegen England.

Seine grandiose Torvorlage im Finale der UEFA-U17-Europameisterschaft 2014 gegen England fasst die überragende Vorstellung von Steven Bergwijn bei der Endrunde treffend zusammen.

Trainer Maarten Stekelenburg versprach kurz vor Beginn des Turniers, dass seine Mannschaft "typisch niederländisch" spielen werde. Er setzte auf ein offensives 4-3-3-System mit starken Flügelspielern. Von diesen stach Bergwijn besonders ins Auge, er traf selbst dreimal für die Jong Oranje und bereitete drei weitere Tore vor.

"Der niederländische Fußball ist immer offensiv geprägt", sagte der Angreifer von PSV Eindhoven gegenüber UEFA.com. "Wir sind eine Mannschaft, die das Spiel so breit wie möglich machen will. Wenn man das macht, schafft man sich Räume im Angriff. Wenn man es nicht schafft, wird man von seinem Gegner mehr unter Druck gesetzt, weil sich mehr Spieler auf engem Raum befinden."

Bergwijn hat von dieser Spielweise sehr profitiert. Er holte den Elfmeter heraus, der zum ersten Treffer der Niederlande auf Malta führte, beim 3:2-Sieg gegen die Türkei. Am zweiten Spieltag trumpfte er gegen den Gastgeber selbst groß auf. Der 16-Jährige zeigte zweimal seine Schnelligkeit und schloss einmal mit links und einmal mit rechts erfolgreich ab.

Im letzten Gruppenspiel gegen England wurde er geschont, doch im Halbfinale gegen Schottland war er wieder dabei. Dabei demonstrierte er erneut seinen explosiven Antritt, von den fünf Toren der Niederlande bereitete er eines vor und erzielte eines selbst.

Damit hatte er seinen Platz unter den Topstars des Turniers bereits sicher, doch im Finale legte er noch einen drauf. Bergwign kam 30 Meter vor dem englischen Tor an den Ball und spielte einen traumhaften Pass, mit dem er die komplette englische Abwehr aussteigen ließ und so Jari Schuurman den Weg zum Ausgleich bereitete. In der zweiten Halbzeit musste Bergwijn zwar angeschlagen ausgewechselt werden, doch zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte er bereits bewiesen, dass eine große Karriere vor ihm liegt.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 27.05.14 13.25MEZ

Verwandte Information

Spielerprofile

http://de.uefa.com/under17/history/season=2014/goldenplayer/index.html#2014+steven+bergwijn

The official website for European football

2014: Steven Bergwijn

Netherlands forward Steven Bergwijn capped a splendid UEFA European Under-17 Championship campaign with a sensational assist in the final defeat by England.
by Tom Kell
2014: Steven Bergwijn
Netherlands forward Steven Bergwijn in action during the finals in Malta ©Sportsfile

2014: Steven Bergwijn

Netherlands forward Steven Bergwijn capped a splendid UEFA European Under-17 Championship campaign with a sensational assist in the final defeat by England.

With one outrageous flick of his right boot in the final, Steven Bergwijn confirmed in sensational fashion the class he had shown throughout the 2014 UEFA European Under-17 Championship.

Netherlands coach Maarten Stekelenburg promised on the eve of the tournament that his side were "typically Dutch" in style. Sure enough, they deployed a fluid 4-3-3 formation, were assured in possession from back to front and relied heavily on a clutch of expert wide forwards. Bergwijn was the most eye-catching of those, scoring and assisting three goals in the Jong Oranje's campaign.

"As everyone knows, Dutch football is always attacking," the PSV Eindhoven forward told UEFA.com. "We are a team that tries to make the pitch as big as possible. When you do this, you make space to play together and attack. If you fail to do this, you get pressured by the opposition more because there are more players closer together."

Bergwijn was both a cause and a beneficiary of this expansive approach. Though he won the penalty that led to the Dutch's first goal in Malta, in a 3-2 victory against Turkey, it was on matchday two, against the hosts, that Bergwijn really announced himself on the big stage. The 16-year-old twice showed fleet of foot to create space and finished superbly on each occasion, firstly with his right boot and then with his left.

Rested against England in the final round of Group A fixtures, he was back in the fold for the semi-final against Scotland. Once more he demonstrated explosive pace to tee up one of the Netherlands' five goals, before getting in on the act with a deflected effort of his own.

Already assured of a place among a list of the tournament's most promising performers, Bergwign catapulted himself to the top of the pile in the showpiece. The Dutch were trailing when the ball was played into the No7 around 30 metres from goal; with almost impudent ease, his first-touch pass fooled an entire England defence and allowed Jari Schuurman to equalise. Though Bergwijn was forced off early on in the second half, he had done enough to suggest a stellar career awaits.

Last updated: 27/05/14 10.48CET

Related information

Player profiles

http://www.uefa.com/under17/history/season=2014/goldenplayer/index.html#2014+steven+bergwijn

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-17 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.