The official website for European football

Spain's proud junior pedigree

Published: Sunday 13 May 2007, 9.21CET
Sunday's UEFA European Under-17 Championship final will be the eleventh occasion Spain have played in the junior showpiece and they have won six times.
by Paul Saffer
from Nivelles
Published: Sunday 13 May 2007, 9.21CET

Spain's proud junior pedigree

Sunday's UEFA European Under-17 Championship final will be the eleventh occasion Spain have played in the junior showpiece and they have won six times.

While England are in their first final in the continents junior men's tournament, Spain were already into double figures even before their run to today's UEFA European Under-17 Championship decider in Belgium.

First titles
Spain's first final was in the fourth edition of the then U16 event, meeting Italy in Athens, and Gianni Flamigni's own goal ensured a 2-1 win and the debut title. Two years later Spain made the final again, this time on home soil. And after a 0-0 draw with Portugal in Madrid, Spain won 4-2 on penalties and became the first nation to take the trophy twice. The Juan Santisteban era now began, and in 1991 Spain's third final came against a newly unified Germany in Berne. Antonio Robaina was the hero with two goals in the 25th minute to secure a 2-0 win. A year later these nations were matched again in Cyprus, but this time Germany prevailed 2-1.

Casillas heroics
In 1995 the U16 finals were in Belgium, and just as this year Santisteban led Spain to the final - though they went down 2-0 to Portugal. But better was to follow in Germany two years later as Spain took on Austria and won 5-4 on penalties after a goalless game, a young Iker Casillas between the posts. The Czech Republic staged the 1999 finals and Spain, with another future star Pepe Reina in goal, won through to play Poland for the trophy. And it was a fifth success, as although Jorge Perona's ninth strike of the finals was cancelled out by Rafal Grzelak, in the second half Pedro Álvarez, Ernesto Gomez and Elías Molina secured a 4-1 win.

Torres winner
England in 2001 marked the last tournament before the reclassification to U17 level, and it was appropriate that Spain marked the change with their sixth U16 title. Nearly 30,000 were present in Sunderland as France, who were to go on to win the FIFA U-17 World Cup, were defeated by a 76th-minute Fernando Torres penalty.

U17 defeats
However, Spain tasted defeat in both their U17 finals to date, each game against host nations. In 2003 against Portugal, although David Rodríguez - brother of 2007 squad member Sergio - cancelled out Márcio Sousa's first-half goal, the home player struck again to earn a 2-1 win. A year on in France, Kévin Constant put the home side ahead and Gerard Piqué equalised for a Spain side including Cesc Fabregas, only for Samir Nasri to score for Les Mini-Bleus from distance in the last minute.

Further honours
England do have the consolation of having won as many European U18 titles as Spain. In 1993 Gary Neville, Sol Campbell, Paul Scholes and Robbie Fowler helped England beat Turkey 1-0 wile two years on Spain, with Guti and Francisco Rufete in tow gained a 4-1 win against Gianluigi Buffon, Francesco Totti and Andrea Pirlo's Italy. But in the modern U19 event Spain won in 2002, 2004 and 2006 while England have a sole final defeat by France in 2005 in the bank. Spain even took the women's U19 title in 2003 to underline their prowess in youth football.

Last updated: 28/09/14 1.58CET

Related information

Team profiles