The official website for European football

2011/12 qualifying round

Fifty-two teams began the journey to the 2012 finals in Slovenia with the qualifying round draw.

2011/12 qualifying round

Fifty-two teams began the journey to the 2012 finals in Slovenia with the qualifying round draw.

The 2011/12 UEFA European Under-17 Championship qualifying round draw was made at UEFA HQ in Nyon, Switzerland on Tuesday 30 November.

As usual, a qualifying round and elite round will lead to the eight-team final tournament to be held in May 2012 in Slovenia. The 52 countries in the qualifying round draw were split into two seeding pots of 26 nations, based on their coefficients.

The 13 qualifying round groups contain two teams from each of the seeding pots, with hosts then appointed for the mini-tournaments to be played in autumn 2011. The top two in each group plus the two best third-placed teams progress to the elite round in spring 2012, which will produce seven finalists to join Slovenia.

Qualifying round draw
Group 1 (23-28 September): Norway, Hungary*, Andorra, Belarus

Group 2 (24-29 October): Portugal*, Romania, Russia, Finland

Group 3 (24-29 October): Scotland, Turkey, San Marino, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*

Group 4 (19-24 October): Czech Republic, Republic of Ireland, Kazakhstan*, Liechtenstein

Group 5 (12-17 October): Italy, Austria, Denmark*, Cyprus

Group 6 (28-31 October): England, Netherlands, Latvia, Bosnia and Herzegovina*

Group 7 (25-30 October): Belgium, Croatia*, Ukraine, Azerbaijan

Group 8 (21-26 September): Georgia, Sweden, Bulgaria, Moldova*

Group 9 (17-22 October): Wales, Serbia*, Armenia, Lithuania

Group 10 (28 October-2 November): Northern Ireland, France, Luxembourg*, Faroe Islands

Group 11 (19-24 October): Spain, Poland, Montenegro*, Malta

Group 12 (13-18 October): Slovakia, Germany, Albania, Estonia*

Group 13 (12-17 October): Greece, Switzerland, Israel*, Iceland


Qualifying round draw pots
Pot A: Spain, England, Switzerland, Netherlands, France, Germany, Turkey, Croatia, Portugal, Czech Republic, Serbia, Greece, Italy, Republic of Ireland, Austria, Belgium, Wales, Romania, Slovakia, Poland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Hungary, Norway, Sweden, Georgia

Pot B: Finland, Denmark, Israel, Luxembourg, Russia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Ukraine, Estonia, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Iceland, Moldova, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Malta, Lithuania, Andorra, Latvia, Faroe Islands, Kazakhstan, Montenegro, Armenia, Albania, Liechtenstein, San Marino

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-17 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.