The official website for European football

2012/13 qualifying round

The 52 entrants were split into two seedings pots.

2012/13 qualifying round

The 52 entrants were split into two seedings pots.

Group 1 (25-30 September): Belarus, Serbia*, Moldova, Armenia

Group 2 (3-8 October): Finland*, Germany, Andorra, San Marino

Group 3 (23-28 October): Belgium*, Netherlands, Lithuania, Latvia

Group 4 (19-24 October): Spain, Poland, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria*

Group 5 (24-29 September): Greece, France, Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina*

Group 6 (10-15 October): Austria*, Switzerland, Cyprus, Faroe Islands

Group 7 (21-26 October): England, Northern Ireland, Estonia*, Wales

Group 8 (18-23 October): Italy, Hungary*, Albania, Liechtenstein

Group 9 (29 September-4 October): Norway, Portugal, Malta*, Iceland

Group 10 (29 September-4 October): Republic of Ireland, Romania, Sweden, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*

Group 11 (25-30 September): Denmark, Czech Republic*, Montenegro, Russia

Group 12 (14-19 October): Turkey, Croatia*, Kazakhstan, Israel

Group 13 (30 October-4 November): Scotland, Georgia*, Luxembourg, Ukraine


08.30CET, 29 November, Nyon
Seven teams will join hosts Slovakia in the final tournament but before that the 52 entrants compete next autumn for 28 elite round places. In the draw conducted by Jim Boyce, chairman of the UEFA Youth and Amateur Football Committee, and 2011 winning Netherlands captain Daan Disveld, two pots of 26 teams each have been formed according to their coefficient.

In all 13 groups will be formed, each containing two teams from each of the seeding pots, with the mini-tournament hosts appointed after the draw. The top two in each group along with the two third-placed teams with the best record against the leading pair will progress to the elite round in March 2013.

Draw procedure

Pot A: England, Netherlands, Spain, France, Germany, Czech Republic, Turkey, Switzerland, Portugal, Croatia, Greece, Romania, Serbia, Denmark, Italy, Austria, Norway, Republic of Ireland, Belgium, Georgia, Finland, Hungary, Northern Ireland, Poland, Belarus, Scotland

Pot B: Ukraine, Russia, Luxembourg, Wales, Sweden, Israel, Iceland, Azerbaijan, Estonia, Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Cyprus, Malta, Faroe Islands, Armenia, Andorra, Albania, Moldova, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, San Marino, Liechtenstein

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament. The format changed for 2014/15 with the expansion of the final tournament from eight to 16 teams.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four countries playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each pool progress alongside the four third-placed sides with the best record against the leading pair in their groups.

Elite round
In the elite round, held in early spring, those 30 qualifiers plus the top two seeds – given a bye this far – compete in eight mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners and seven runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section advance to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
In the final tournament the contenders are split into four groups of four, with the front two from each proceeding to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.