The official website for European football

Elite round

The 28 teams were drawn into seven groups

Elite round

The 28 teams were drawn into seven groups

Elite round draw
Group 1 (21-26 March): Croatia*, Belgium, Spain, France

Group 2 (25-30 March): Serbia, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Austria*

Group 3 (26-31 March): Hungary*, Sweden, Finland, Belarus

Group 4 (26-31 March): Germany*, Ukraine, Bulgaria, Estonia

Group 5 (22-27 March): Czech Republic, Switzerland*, Israel, Poland

Group 6 (23-28 March): England*, Slovenia, Portugal, Russia

Group 7 (21-26 March): Norway, Netherlands (holders)*, Italy, Northern Ireland


11.00CET, 5 December, Nyon

Following the qualifying round, 28 teams will compete in the second stage next spring. They will be split into four seeding pots according to their coefficient.

In the draw seven groups will be formed, each containing one team from the four seeding pots, though no nation may meet opponents they played in the qualifying round. The mini-tournament hosts will then be selected; only the group winners will progress to join hosts Slovakia in the finals from 5 to 17 May. The top six teams in the tournament will progress to the FIFA U-17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates from 17 October and 8 November.

Pot A: Germany, Serbia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Croatia, England, Norway

Pot B: Ukraine, Switzerland, Sweden, Republic of Ireland, Netherlands (holders), Slovenia, Belgium

Pot C: Israel, Italy, Georgia, Bulgaria, Portugal, Spain, Finland

Pot D: Russia, Poland, Belarus, Austria, Northern Ireland, France, Estonia

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament. The format changed for 2014/15 with the expansion of the final tournament from eight to 16 teams.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four countries playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each pool progress alongside the four third-placed sides with the best record against the leading pair in their groups.

Elite round
In the elite round, held in early spring, those 30 qualifiers plus the top two seeds – given a bye this far – compete in eight mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners and seven runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section advance to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
In the final tournament the contenders are split into four groups of four, with the front two from each proceeding to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.