Final tournament - Group stage

Group A(Host country: Bulgaria)

1Croatia Croatia32103037
2Spain Spain31203215
3Austria Austria302123-12
4Bulgaria Bulgaria301225-31

Group B(Host country: Bulgaria)

1Germany Germany33007079
2Belgium Belgium32014226
3Czech Republic Czech Republic310217-63
4Slovenia Slovenia300303-30

Group C(Host country: Bulgaria)

1France France33007079
2Russia Russia31114314
3Greece Greece31113304
4Scotland Scotland300308-80

Group D(Host country: Bulgaria)

1England England32103127
2Italy Italy31113214
3Netherlands Netherlands30302203
4Republic of Ireland Republic of Ireland301203-31


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Last updated: 21/11/2017 09:38 CET


Qualifying round

Elite round

Final tournament

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament. The format changed for 2014/15 with the expansion of the final tournament from eight to 16 teams.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four countries playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each pool progress alongside the four third-placed sides with the best record against the leading pair in their groups.

Elite round
In the elite round, held in early spring, those 30 qualifiers plus the top two seeds – given a bye this far – compete in eight mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners and seven runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section advance to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
In the final tournament the contenders are split into four groups of four, with the front two from each proceeding to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.