The official website for European football

Facts and figures

The records, statistics and facts from more than a decade of UEFA European Under-17 Championship action.
Facts and figures
A competition record 33,000 fans attended Azerbaijan's first game of the 2016 finals ©Sportsfile

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament. The format changed for 2014/15 with the expansion of the final tournament from eight to 16 teams.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four countries playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each pool progress alongside the five third-placed sides with the best record against the leading pair in their groups.

Elite round
In the elite round, held in early spring, those 31 qualifiers plus the top seed – given a bye this far – compete in eight mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners and seven runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section advance to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
In the final tournament the contenders are split into four groups of four, with the front two from each proceeding to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.


Facts and figures

The records, statistics and facts from more than a decade of UEFA European Under-17 Championship action.

Records apply for the UEFA European Under-17 Championship (2001/02 onwards) only. Final tournaments: 16 teams 2001/02 and from 2014/15 onwards, otherwise 8.

Champions (hosts)
2016: Portugal (Azerbaijan)
2015: France (Bulgaria)
2014: England (Malta)
2013: Russia (Slovakia)
2012: Netherlands (Slovenia)
2011: Netherlands (Serbia)
2010: England (Liechtenstein)
2009: Germany (Germany)
2008: Spain (Turkey)
2007: Spain (Belgium)
2006: Russia (Luxembourg)
2005: Turkey (Italy)
2004: France (France)
2003: Portugal (Portugal)
2002: Switzerland (Denmark)

Biggest wins
Pre-2002 qualifying round: Czech Republic 7-0 Luxembourg, Switzerland 7-0 Faroe Islands, 2001/02
Post-2002 qualifying round: Belarus 12-0 Liechtenstein, 2010/11; San Marino 0-12 Netherlands, 2013/14
Elite round: France 9-0 Belarus, 2010/11; Germany 10-1 Armenia, 2016/17
Final tournament: Denmark 6-0 Finland, 2001/02; Luxembourg 1-7 Spain, 2005/06

Individual match goalscoring
Qualifying: Nikola Kalinić (Croatia) 5 v Andorra, 2004/05; Fabian Himcinschi (Romania) 5 v Liechtenstein, Viktor Fischer (Denmark) 5 v Lithuania, 2010/11; Timo Werner (Germany) 5 v Andorra, 2012/13; Ezra Walian (Netherlands) v San Marino, Raz Yizhak (Israel) v Liechtenstein, 2013/14
Final tournament: Morten Rasmussen (Denmark) 5 v Finland, 2001/02

Season top scorers
2015/16: José Gomes (Portugal) 12
2014/15: Odsonne Edouard (France) 13
2013/14: Adam Armstrong (England), Dominic Solanke (England) 9
2012/13: Timo Werner (Germany) 13
2011/12: Gergely Bobál (Hungary) 8
2010/11: Samed Yesil (Germany) 11
2009/10: Paco Alcácer (Spain) 14
2008/09: Muhammet Demir (Turkey) 7
2007/08: Danijel Aleksić (Serbia), Geoffrey Castillion (Netherlands) 9
2006/07: Toni Kroos (Germany), Vitali Rushnitski (Belarus), Kolbein Sigthórsson (Iceland) 7
2005/06: Manuel Fischer (Germany) 13
2004/05: Nikola Kalinić (Croatia) 11
2003/04: Fausto Lourenço (Portugal) 8
2002/03: David Rodríguez (Spain) 9
2001/02: Collins John (Netherlands), Simon Vukčević (Yugoslavia) 8

Finals top scorers
2015/16: José Gomes (Portugal) 7
2014/15: Odsonne Edouard (France) 8
2013/14: Jari Schuurman (Netherlands), Dominic Solanke (England) 4
2012/13: Elio Capradossi (Italy), Robin Kamber (Switzerland), Mario Pugliese (Italy), Martin Slaninka (Slovakia) 2
2011/12: Max Meyer (Germany) 3
2010/11: Kyle Ebecilio (Nethelands), Hallam Hope (England), Tonny Trindade de Vilhena (Netherlands), Samed Yesil (Germany) 3
2009/10: Paco Alcácer (Spain) 6
2008/09: Luc Castaignos (Netherlands), Lennart Thy (Germany) 3
2007/08: Yannis Tafer (France) 4
2006/07: Toni Kroos (Germany), Victor Moses (England) 3
2005/06: Manuel Fischer (Germany), Bojan Krkić (Spain), Tomáš Necid (Czech Republic) 5
2004/05: Tevfik Köse (Turkey) 6
2003/04: Hatem Ben Arfa (France), Bruno Gama (Portugal), Shane Paul (England), Marc Pedraza (Spain) 3
2002/03: David Rodríguez (Spain) 6
2001/02: Jonathan Soriano (Spain) 7

All time (final tournaments)
Odsonne Edouard (France) 8
José Gomes (Portugal) 7
Bojan Krkić (Spain) 7
David Rodríguez (Spain) 7
Jonathan Soriano (Spain) 7

All time (including qualifying)
José Gomes (Portugal) 16
Paco Alcácer (Spain) 14
Odsonne Edouard (France) 13
Manuel Fischer (Germany) 13
Timo Werner (Germany) 13
Abel Ruiz (Spain) 12
Vaclav Kadlec (Czech Republic) 11
Nikola Kalinić (Croatia) 11
Toni Kroos (Germany) 11
Krisztián Németh (Hungary) 11
Samed Yesil (Germany) 11

2016/17 qualifying top scorers
Qualifying round: Yacine Adli (France), Filston Mawana (Sweden), Martin Murcko (Slovakia), Abel Ruiz (Spain), Christian Tue (Denmark) 4
Elite round: Elias Abouchabaka (France), Maximo Tolonen (Finland) 5
Overall: Aaron Connolly (Republic of Ireland) 7

Highest attendances
Qualifying round: Belarus v Portugal, Minsk, 2004/05, 12,500
Elite round: Ukraine v Georgia, Tbilisi, 2011/12, 12,000
Final tournament: Azerbaijan v Portugal, Baku, 2015/16, 33,000

2016/17 Highest attendances
Qualifying round: Norway v Lithuania, Alyuts, 1,012
Elite round: Russia v Hungary, Budapest, 1,600

Final tournament appearances (max 15)
12 England*
11 France*, Netherlands*, Spain*
10 Germany*
7 Italy*, Switzerland, Turkey*
6 Portugal, Serbia* (inc Yugoslavia/Serbia and Montenegro), Ukraine*
5 Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Scotland*
4 Croatia*, Denmark, Hungary*
3 Republic of Ireland*, Russia
2 Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Georgia, Greece, Iceland, Israel, Poland, Slovenia, Sweden
1 Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, Faroe Islands*, Finland, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Northern Ireland, Norway*, Romania, Slovakia

*inc 2016/17

Last updated: 29/03/17 16.08CET