The official website for European football

Azerbaijan 2016

Azerbaijan stages the 16-team UEFA European Under-17 Championship from 5 to 21 May 2016.
Azerbaijan 2016
The tournament hotel in Baku ©Sportsfile

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament. The format changed for 2014/15 with the expansion of the final tournament from eight to 16 teams.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four countries playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each pool progress alongside the four third-placed sides with the best record against the leading pair in their groups.

Elite round
In the elite round, held in early spring, those 30 qualifiers plus the top two seeds – given a bye this far – compete in eight mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners and seven runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section advance to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
In the final tournament the contenders are split into four groups of four, with the front two from each proceeding to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.


Azerbaijan 2016

Azerbaijan stages the 16-team UEFA European Under-17 Championship from 5 to 21 May 2016.

Azerbaijan holds the UEFA European Under-17 Championship from 5 to 21 May 2016. The 15 sides to join the hosts will be decided by the elite round in the spring, with the finals featuring four groups of four, the top two in each progressing to the knockout phase.

The draw
Group A: Azerbaijan (hosts), Portugal, Belgium, Scotland

Group B: Ukraine, Germany, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Group C: France (holders), Denmark, England, Sweden

Group D: Italy, Serbia, Netherlands, Spain

Group stage: 5/6, 8/9, 11/12 May (Baku Olympic Stadium, Qarabağ Stadium, 8km Stadium, Dalga Arena)
Quarter-finals: 14/15 May (8km Stadium, Dalga Arena)
Semi-finals: 18 May (Baku Olympic Stadium)
Final: 21 May (Baku Olympic Stadium)


The tournament will be the first UEFA youth finals staged by Azerbaijan, though Baku was the venue for the 2014 UEFA Futsal Cup finals and has also been selected to hold four UEFA EURO 2020 fixtures, including a quarter-final. Azerbaijan also hosted the 2012 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup.

The Azerbaijan U17 team will be the first to represent the nation in any UEFA football final tournament. Azerbaijan did play at UEFA Futsal EURO 2010, 2012, 2014 and 2016.


Baku Olympic Stadium (six group games including Azerbaijan's opening match)
• Seating capacity: 68,000
• Home club: Azerbaijan national team
• Did you know? Will stage one of the UEFA EURO 2020 quarter-finals.


Qarabağ Stadium

Qarabağ Stadium (six group games)
• Seating capacity: 4,735
• Home club: Qarabağ
• Did you know? The arena opened in 2015 with Qarabağ moving from the Tofig Bahramov Stadium.

8km Stadium (six group games, two quarter-finals, final)
• Seating capacity: 10,500
• Home club: Neftçi
• Did you know? Opened in time to stage matches during the 2012 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup, it is named after the district in which it is located (its distance east of the centre of Baku).

Dalga Arena (six group games, two quarter-finals, semi-finals)
• Seating capacity: 6,700
• Home club: Azerbaijan youth national teams
• Did you know? Opened in 2011 and also used for the following year's FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup.