The official website for European football

Under-17 final tournament draw

The final tournament draw features 16 teams.

Under-17 final tournament draw

The final tournament draw features 16 teams.

18:00CET, 3 April 2017, Panorama Zagreb Hotel

Group A: Croatia, Spain, Turkey, Italy
Group B:
Scotland, France, Hungary, Faroe Islands
Group C:
Germany, Republic of Ireland, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Group D:
Netherlands, England, Norway, Ukraine

How the draw worked
• Croatia were placed in position 1 of Group A. The seven best elite round section winners were in Pot 1 and drawn to fill the remaining positions 1 and 2 in the four finals groups. The remaining teams (the other elite round group winners and the seven best runners-up) were in Pot 2 and filled positions 3 and 4.

Pot 1: Germany, England, Scotland, Republic of Ireland, Netherlands, France, Spain
Pot 2: Hungary, Turkey, Italy, Serbia, Ukraine, Norway, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Faroe Islands

• The top two in each group progress to the quarter-finals.

Varazdin (Quarter-final, Semi-final, Final), Zapresic (Group D x 2, Quarter-final, Semi-final), Velika Gorica (Group B x 3, Quarter-final x 2), Sesvete (Group D x 3, World Cup play-off), Lucko (Group B x 3, Group D x 1), Rijeka (Group A x 5, Group C x 1), Kostrena (Group A x 1 , Group C x 5)

Group stage: 3/4, 6/7, 9/10 May
Quarter-finals 12/13 May
Semi-finals & FIFA U-17 World Cup play-off: 16 May
Final: 19 May


Knockout system
Quarter-final 1: Winner Group A v Runner-up Group B
Quarter-final 2: Winner Group B v Runner-up Group A
Quarter-final 3: Winner Group C v Runner-up Group D
Quarter-final 4: Winner Group D v Runner-up Group C

Semi-final 1: Winner quarter-final 1 v Winner quarter-final 3
Semi-final 2: Winner quarter-final 2 v Winner quarter-final 4

Final: Winner semi-final 1 v Winner semi-final 2

• The two best losing quarter-finalists (as per criteria in Regulation 16.06) will play off for Europe's fifth FIFA U-17 World Cup place and join the four semi-finalists in India later in 2017.

• The final tournament will also act as the European qualifier for UEFA's five berths in the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup in India, running from 6 to 28 October.

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament. The format changed for 2014/15 with the expansion of the final tournament from eight to 16 teams.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four countries playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each pool progress alongside the four third-placed sides with the best record against the leading pair in their groups.

Elite round
In the elite round, held in early spring, those 30 qualifiers plus the top two seeds – given a bye this far – compete in eight mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners and seven runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section advance to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
In the final tournament the contenders are split into four groups of four, with the front two from each proceeding to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.