Elite round

Group 1(Host country: Turkey)

1Germany Germany2200163136
2Turkey Turkey220010196
3Finland Finland2002310-70
4Armenia Armenia2002116-150

Group 2(Host country: Hungary)

1Hungary Hungary32013216
2Norway Norway31115324
3Israel Israel311113-24
4Russia Russia302134-12

Group 3(Host country: Portugal)

1Spain Spain32015236
2Portugal Portugal31117524
3Poland Poland31117614
4Greece Greece310217-63

Group 4(Host country: Scotland)

1Scotland Scotland33008179
2Serbia Serbia32013216
3Switzerland Switzerland31024403
4Montenegro Montenegro3003210-80

Group 5(Host country: Netherlands)

1Netherlands Netherlands33007349
2Italy Italy32015236
3Belarus Belarus310247-33
4Belgium Belgium300315-40

Group 6(Host country: Austria)

1Austria Austria21104224
1France France21104224
3Ukraine Ukraine210134-13
4Sweden Sweden200225-30

Group 7(Host country: Bosnia and Herzegovina)

1England England22009366
2Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina21102114
3Slovenia Slovenia201104-41
4Czech Republic Czech Republic200247-30

Group 8(Host country: Cyprus)

1Republic of Ireland Republic of Ireland33007079
2Faroe Islands Faroe Islands311125-34
3Slovakia Slovakia310234-13
4Cyprus Cyprus301214-31


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Last updated: 27/03/2017 10:16 CET


Qualifying round

Elite round

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament. The format changed for 2014/15 with the expansion of the final tournament from eight to 16 teams.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four countries playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each pool progress alongside the five third-placed sides with the best record against the leading pair in their groups.

Elite round
In the elite round, held in early spring, those 31 qualifiers plus the top seed – given a bye this far – compete in eight mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners and seven runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section advance to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
In the final tournament the contenders are split into four groups of four, with the front two from each proceeding to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.