Qualifying round

Group 1(Host country: Malta)

1Belgium Belgium33008179
2Switzerland Switzerland32016246
3Northern Ireland Northern Ireland310218-73
4Malta Malta300315-40

Group 2(Host country: Albania)

1Croatia Croatia32108177
2Spain Spain32105147
3Albania Albania31025233
4Liechtenstein Liechtenstein3003014-140

Group 3(Host country: Czech Republic)

1Israel Israel33006069
2Czech Republic Czech Republic31118354
3Turkey Turkey31115234
4Armenia Armenia3003014-140

Group 4(Host country: Finland)

1Finland Finland32105057
2Iceland Iceland32104047
3Russia Russia310234-13
4Faroe Islands Faroe Islands300319-80

Group 5(Host country: Serbia)

1Serbia Serbia330012399
2Greece Greece32019366
3Norway Norway310211383
4Gibraltar Gibraltar3003023-230

Group 6(Host country: Belarus)

1France France330010289
2Slovenia Slovenia32013216
3Belarus Belarus310245-13
4Kazakhstan Kazakhstan300319-80

Group 7(Host country: Estonia)

1Scotland Scotland32105147
2Denmark Denmark32102027
3Andorra Andorra301213-21
4Estonia Estonia301204-41

Group 8(Host country: FYR Macedonia)

1Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina31205145
2Slovakia Slovakia31203125
3FYR Macedonia FYR Macedonia31202025
4Moldova Moldova300308-80

Group 9(Host country: Hungary)

1Hungary Hungary33006249
2Netherlands Netherlands32017256
3Wales Wales310236-33
4Kosovo Kosovo300328-60

Group 10(Host country: Romania)

1Austria Austria33005149
2Romania Romania31112204
3Lithuania Lithuania310235-23
4Luxembourg Luxembourg301224-21

Group 11(Host country: Bulgaria)

1Republic of Ireland Republic of Ireland3300121119
2Ukraine Ukraine320110466
3Azerbaijan Azerbaijan3102313-103
4Bulgaria Bulgaria300318-70

Group 12(Host country: Cyprus)

1Poland Poland321010197
2Sweden Sweden312011295
3Cyprus Cyprus31116244
4San Marino San Marino3003022-220

Group 13(Host country: Georgia)

1Italy Italy33006069
2Georgia Georgia32013216
3Latvia Latvia301213-21
4Montenegro Montenegro301216-51


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Last updated: 01/11/2017 16:46 CET


Qualifying round

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament. The format changed for 2014/15 with the expansion of the final tournament from eight to 16 teams.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four countries playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each pool progress alongside the four third-placed sides with the best record against the leading pair in their groups.

Elite round
In the elite round, held in early spring, those 30 qualifiers plus the top two seeds – given a bye this far – compete in eight mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners and seven runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section advance to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
In the final tournament the contenders are split into four groups of four, with the front two from each proceeding to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.