The official website for European football

2014 final tournament: Hungary

Hungary will stage the final tournament from 19 to 31 July 2014.
2014 final tournament: Hungary
UEFA European Under-19 Championship trophy ©Sportsfile

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-19 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four teams playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each progress alongside the third-placed team with the best record against the top pair in their group.

Elite round
In the elite round, played in the spring, those 27 qualifiers join the top seed, given a bye, in seven mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners then join the hosts in the finals.

Final tournament

The seven qualifiers plus the hosts are split into two groups of four who play each other once, with the top two progressing to the semi-finals. The winners of those ties contest the final.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.

2014 final tournament: Hungary

Hungary will stage the final tournament from 19 to 31 July 2014.

Hungary will host the UEFA European Under-19 Championship from 19 to 31 July 2014. Holders Serbia, Ukraine, Bulgaria, Israel, Germany, Portugal and Austria join the hosts in the finals, the 13th to be held since the switch from U18 classification.

Hungary hosted the 1990 U18 finals, the last major football honour won by the Soviet Union, who had also triumphed in the 1985 U16 Championship staged by the same nation. More recently Hungary was the venue for the 2005 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship and UEFA Futsal EURO 2010.

Season calendar
6 September-19 November: Qualifying round
28 November: Elite round draw (Nyon)
24 May-10 June 2014: Elite round
19 June: Final tournament draw (Puskás Academy in Felcsut, Hungary)
19-31 July: Final tournament (Hungary)

Final tournament
Four stadiums will be used for the final tournament:
Szusza Ferenc Stadium, Budapest
Puskás Akadémia Pancho Aréna, Felcsut
ETO Park Stadion, Gyor
Perutz Stadium, Papa

FIFA U-20 World Cup
The four semi-finalists, and the third-ranked team in each group at the final tournament, will qualify for the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup New Zealand (30 May–21 June 2015).