The official website for European football

Next season

Next season's finals will be held in Estonia with qualifying beginning in autumn.
Next season
The qualifying round draw was made late in 2010 ©

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-19 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four teams playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each progress alongside the third-placed team with the best record against the top pair in their group.

Elite round
In the elite round, played in the spring, those 27 qualifiers join the top seed, given a bye, in seven mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners then join the hosts in the finals.

Final tournament

The seven qualifiers plus the hosts are split into two groups of four who play each other once, with the top two progressing to the semi-finals. The winners of those ties contest the final.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.

Next season

Next season's finals will be held in Estonia with qualifying beginning in autumn.

A qualifying round and elite round will lead to the eight-team final tournament to be held in summer 2012 in Estonia. The 48 countries in the qualifying round have been split into 12 groups of four, to be played as single-venue mini-tournaments in autumn 2011.

Top-ranked nations England, France and Spain receive byes to the elite round, and will be joined by the teams who finish in the top two of each qualifying round group plus the third-placed team with the best record against the leading pair. The elite round, drawn late this year, will consist of seven groups of four played in spring 2012, the mini-tournament winners joining Estonia in the finals.

Qualifying round draw
Group 1 (4-9 November): Hungary, Portugal*, San Marino, Faroe Islands

Group 2 (6-11 October): Russia, Republic of Ireland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria*

Group 3 (6-11 October): Italy, Azerbaijan, Romania, Sweden*

Group 4 (21-26 October): Iceland, Norway, Latvia, Cyprus*

Group 5 (8-13 November): Serbia, Czech Republic, Lithuania, Israel*

Group 6 (10-15 November): Ukraine, Switzerland, Kazakhstan, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*

Group 7 (6-11 October): Belarus, Germany, Montenegro, Northern Ireland*

Group 8 (21-26 September): Belgium, Scotland, Wales, Slovenia*

Group 9 (11-16 November): Poland, Turkey*, Georgia, Luxembourg

Group 10 (21-26 October): Slovakia, Greece, Armenia*, Andorra

Group 11 (10-15 November): Netherlands*, Croatia, Moldova, Finland

Group 12 (5-10 October): Austria*, Denmark, Malta, Albania


Last updated: 28/01/12 4.44CET