Pearce names England squad for U21 finals

Five players who featured in the 2009 final loss to Germany are in Stuart Pearce's England squad for June's UEFA European Under-21 Championship in Denmark.

Kieran Gibbs in action against Germany in 2009
Kieran Gibbs in action against Germany in 2009 ©Getty Images

England coach Stuart Pearce has named his final 23-man squad for next month's UEFA European Under-21 Championship in Denmark.

Micah Richards, Kieran Gibbs, Michael Mancienne, Fabrice Muamba and Jack Rodwell all featured in the final two years ago when England went down 4-0 to Germany in Sweden. Richards and Gibbs are also senior internationals, along with Danny Welbeck and Jordan Henderson.

Two other members of Pearce's provisional 40-man squad who are set to become regulars in Fabio Capello's side, Andy Carroll and Jack Wilshere, are among those who miss out.

"Andy has been ruled out through injury," said Pearce. "I spoke to Jack last week and he explained that while he told me in March that he wanted to be part of the squad, he now feels he is not in the best condition to take part in the finals."

England meet Norway in a friendly in Southampton on 5 June before starting their finals campaign against Spain a week later. They will also play Ukraine and the Czech Republic in Group B.

England squad
Frankie Fielding (Blackburn Rovers FC), Jason Steele (Middlesbrough FC), Alex McCarthy (Reading FC).

Defenders: Ryan Bertrand (Chelsea FC), Kieran Gibbs (Arsenal FC), Phil Jones (Blackburn Rovers FC), Michael Mancienne (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC), Micah Richards (Manchester City FC), Chris Smalling (Manchester United FC), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur FC).

Midfielders: Marc Albrighton (Aston Villa FC), Jack Cork (Chelsea FC), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United FC), Jordan Henderson (Sunderland AFC), Henri Lansbury (Arsenal FC), Fabrice Muamba (Bolton Wanderers FC), Jack Rodwell (Everton FC), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Scott Sinclair (Swansea City FC).

Forwards: Nathan Delfouneso (Aston Villa FC), Daniel Sturridge (Chelsea FC), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United FC), Connor Wickham (Ipswich Town FC).