Stuart Pearce's side are making their fourth straight appearance at the finals as they aim to win a third title, and a first since 1984 – view their full Under-21 record here.

©Getty Images


Final tournament record
2011: group stage
2009: runnners-up
2007: semi-finals
2002: group stage
2000: group stage
1988: semi-finals
1986: semi-finals
1984: winners
1982: winners
1980: semi-finals
1978: semi-finals

All-time competitive record
P192 W111 D45 L36

2013 qualifying (including play-off)
P10 W9 D0 L1 F26 A3
Top scorers:
Craig Dawson (5)
Ever presents: Jordan Henderson

England U21s capped at senior level
Jack Butland (1 cap), Steven Caulker (1), Jordan Henderson (5), Jonjo Shelvey (1), Wilfried Zaha (1)

Players with previous U21 final tournament experience
Denmark 2011: Jordan Henderson, Danny Rose, Jason Steele, Henri Lansbury, Connor Wickham

Sweden 2009: Danny Rose

Most capped player
All-time: James Milner (46)
Current: Danny Rose (29)

Leading scorer
All-time: Alan Shearer, Francis Jeffers (13)
Current: Craig Dawson (6)

England's loss to Italy was a first defeat in ten games
England's loss to Italy was a first defeat in ten games©Getty Images

Biggest wins
Final tournament:
England 6-0 Turkey 29/05/2000
Group stage, Tehelne Pole, Bratislava

England 8-1 Finland 12/10/1977
1978 qualifying group stage, Boothferry Park, Hull

Heaviest defeats
Final tournament:
Germany 4-0 England 29/06/2009
Final, Malmö New Stadium, Malmo

Romania 4-0 England 14/10/1980
1982 qualifying group stage, Ilie Oana, Ploiesti