Uncapped trio make Germany's U21 party

Germany coach Rainer Adrion has included uncapped trio Emre Can, Matthias Ginter and Sead Kolasinac in his provisional 25-man squad for the Under-21 finals in Israel.

Emre Can could make his Under-21 debut in Israel
Emre Can could make his Under-21 debut in Israel ©Sportsfile

FC Bayern München midfielder Emre Can is among three uncapped players in Rainer Adrion's provisional Germany squad for the UEFA European Under-21 Championship in Israel.

Can, 19, has scored once in four Bundesliga appearances since making his first-team bow in a 4-0 defeat of 1. FC Nürnberg last month. Also hoping for U21 debuts are SC Freiburg midfielder Matthias Ginter and FC Schalke 04 left-back Sead Kolasinac, who featured in both legs of the Royal Blues' UEFA Champions League round of 16 defeat by Galatasaray AŞ.

"These three players have performed well in both the Bundesliga and the second division and are exciting players with great potential," said coach Adrion. "Taking part in a European Championship, as the established members of our squad have already done, offers the chance to gain invaluable international experience." 

Captained by Tottenham Hotspur FC playmaker Lewis Holtby, the squad gather for their first training camp in Grassau, Bavaria, on Tuesday, before travelling to Cyprus ahead of the main event beginning on 5 June. Adrion must trim his 25-man party by two players on 27 May, with injured duo Jan Kirchhoff (groin) and Tolgay Arslan (knee) likely to miss out. 

Germany tackle the Netherlands in their Group B opener on 6 June, before games against Spain (9 June) and Russia (12 June). "We qualified comfortably but this stage of the tournament is a big challenge," said Adrion. "We are up against top countries such as Spain and the Netherlands. Our goal is to win games; that is how we are approaching the tournament." 

Germany squad
Oliver Baumann (SC Freiburg), Bernd Leno (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Timo Horn (1. FC Köln).

Defenders: Tony Jantschke (VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach), Sebastian Jung (Eintracht Frankfurt), Jan Kirchhoff (1. FSV Mainz 05), Sead Kolasinac (FC Schalke 04), Matthias Ginter (SC Freiburg), Oliver Sorg (SC Freiburg), Stefan Thesker (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Lasse Sobiech (SpVgg Greuther Fürth), Shkodran Mustafi (UC Sampdoria).

Midfielders: Tolgay Arslan (Hamburger SV), Christian Clemens (1. FC Köln), Patrick Funk (FC St Pauli), Patrick Herrmann (VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach), Lewis Holtby (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Christoph Moritz (FC Schalke 04), Sebastian Rode (Eintracht Frankfurt), Sebastian Rudy (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Emre Can (FC Bayern München).

Forwards: Pierre-Michel Lasogga (Hertha BSC Berlin), Peniel Mlapa (VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach), Sebastian Polter (1. FC Nürnberg), Kevin Volland (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim).