Morata now two clear in Golden Boot race

Spain striker Álvaro Morata is two goals clear atop the adidas Golden Boot standings after taking his tournament tally to four with his added-time strike against Norway.

Álvaro Morata celebrates after opening the scoring against Norway on Saturday
Álvaro Morata celebrates after opening the scoring against Norway on Saturday ©AFP/Getty Images

Spain striker Álvaro Morata took his final tournament goals tally to four on Saturday and is now two clear at the top of the adidas Golden Boot standings.

Morata had already found the net in each of Spain's group stage games before he finished the scoring for Julen Lopetegui's side in their 3-0 semi-final victory against Norway – his third goal as a substitute in Israel. He is now two goals ahead of five players, including team-mate Isco after the Málaga CF midfielder made it 2-0 against Norway. Rodrigo had given Spain the lead in the semi-final to increase his lead at the top of the 2013 competition standings, qualifying included.

Isco and Italy's Manolo Gabbiadini are the only players left in the competition who are within two of Morata. Netherlands duo Leroy Fer and Georginio Wijnaldum finish the tournament with two goals apiece after the Jong Oranje's 1-0 loss to Italy.

Top scorers
4 – Álvaro Morata (Spain)
2 – Leroy Fer (Netherlands)
2 – Manolo Gabbiadini (Italy)
2 – Sebastian Rudy (Germany)
2 – Georginio Wijnaldum (Netherlands)
2 – Isco (Spain)

Past winners
2011 – Adrián López, Spain (5)
2009 – Marcus Berg, Sweden (7)
2007 – Maceo Rigters, Netherlands (4)
2006 – Klaas-Jan Huntelaar, Netherlands (4)
2004 – Alberto Gilardino, Italy (4)
2002 – Massimo Maccarone, Italy (3)
2000 – Andrea Pirlo, Italy (3)

More information about the Golden Boot award can be found here.

2013 competition top scorers (including qualifying)
12 Rodrigo (Spain)
9 Jan Chramosta (Czech Republic)
8 – Manolo Gabbiadini (Italy), Isco (Spain), Peniel Mlapa (Germany), Jordan Rhodes (Scotland), Genero Zeefuik (Netherlands)
7 – Fedor Smolov (Russia)
6 – Álvaro Vázquez (Spain), Nemanja Bilbija (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Craig Dawson (England), Milan Djurić (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Lewis Holtby (Germany), Mikael Ishak (Sweden), Armando Sadiku (Albania)

*bold players still involved in the competition