Qualifying round

Group 1

1England England109103122928
2Finland Finland104421710716
3Moldova Moldova10514126616
4Wales Wales103341213-112
5Lithuania Lithuania10226619-138
6San Marino San Marino10118230-284

Group 2

1Denmark Denmark108203792826
2Russia Russia1071222121022
3Slovenia Slovenia1052329111817
4Bulgaria Bulgaria102351826-89
5Estonia Estonia10235923-149
6Andorra Andorra10019135-341

Group 3

1Slovakia Slovakia85211971217
2Netherlands Netherlands85122261616
3Scotland Scotland83231215-311
4Georgia Georgia8314815-710
5Luxembourg Luxembourg8107523-183

Group 4

1Spain Spain87102461822
2Austria Austria85121512316
3Hungary Hungary83051213-19
4Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina82061022-126
5Albania Albania8206715-86

Group 5

1Croatia Croatia86112051519
2Ukraine Ukraine86112081219
3Switzerland Switzerland85032381515
4Latvia Latvia82061122-116
5Liechtenstein Liechtenstein8008334-310

Group 6

1Germany Germany86202552020
2Romania Romania83321419-512
3Montenegro Montenegro83231211111
4Republic of Ireland Republic of Ireland82241012-28
5Faroe Islands Faroe Islands8116923-144

Group 7

1Sweden Sweden85122014616
2Greece Greece850320101015
3Poland Poland85031710715
4Turkey Turkey84131611513
5Malta Malta8008230-280

Group 8

1Portugal Portugal88002261624
2Israel Israel85032215715
3Norway Norway83051119-89
4Azerbaijan Azerbaijan8215915-67
5FYR Macedonia FYR Macedonia8116413-94

Group 9

1Italy Italy86021971218
2Serbia Serbia85121810816
3Belgium Belgium8512157816
4Cyprus Cyprus8206721-146
5Northern Ireland Northern Ireland8107317-143

Group 10

1France France87102872122
2Iceland Iceland85122011916
3Kazakhstan Kazakhstan8305818-109
4Armenia Armenia8305719-129
5Belarus Belarus8107614-83
Last updated: 10/03/2015 18:17 CET


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   




Group stage


Olympic play-off*


Road to the final

The 2017 UEFA European Under-21 Championship features a qualifying group stage and a play-off round to determine which 11 teams join hosts Poland in the final tournament.

Qualifying group stage
Teams are split into nine groups – seven of six sides and two of five – and play each other on a home-and-away basis. The nine group winners qualify automatically. The four runners-up with the best record against the nations first, third, fourth and fifth in their sections advance to the play-offs.

The two play-off ties are contested according to the knockout system. The team that scores the greater aggregate of goals proceeds to the next round, with away goals, extra time and then penalties used to determine the winner in the event of a draw.

Final tournament
The final tournament involves the nine group winners, the two play-off victors and Poland, who qualify automatically as hosts. The 12 sides are divided into three groups of four. Teams play each other once in their section, with the three pool winners and the best runner-up qualifying for the semi-finals.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, can be found in the official competition regulations.

  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-21 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.