Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

1978: Vahid Halilhodžić

Veröffentlicht: Samstag, 26. August 1978, 17.01MEZ
Jugoslawien
1978: Vahid Halilhodžić
Vahid Halilhodžić wurde ein erfolgreicher Trainer ©Getty Images
SSI Err
Veröffentlicht: Samstag, 26. August 1978, 17.01MEZ

1978: Vahid Halilhodžić

Jugoslawien

Obwohl er bereits mit 16 Jahren sein Debüt bei seinem Heimatklub NK Turbina Jablanica gab, sah es zunächst nicht so aus, dass Vahid Halilhodžić zu einem Topstürmer heranreifen würde - bis zur UEFA-U21-Europameisterschaft ein Jahrzehnt später. Nach seinem Wechsel zu FK Velez 1971 blieb der große Erfolg noch aus, und auch im U21-Finale gegen die DDR ruhten die Hoffnungen Jugoslawiens auf anderen Talenten, nämlich Zlatko Krmpotić, Nenad Stojković und Blaž Slišković.

Aber es war Halilhodžić, der zwei Tage nach seinem 26. Geburtstag im Hinspiel in Halle kurz nach der Pause den einzigen Treffer des Spiels erzielen konnte. Beim Rückspiel in Mostar trumpfte er dann richtig auf: Nach nicht einmal 15 Minuten führte seine Mannschaft mit 3:1 - und alle drei Tore gingen auf das Konto von Halilhodžić.

Die DDR konnte noch mal zurückschlagen, aber Jugoslawien setzte sich mit insgesamt 5:4-Toren durch. Mann des Spiels war natürlich Halilhodžić. "Ich werde diese drei Tore nie vergessen", sagte er nach seiner Spielerkarriere, in der er 1981 den jugoslawischen Pokal gewinnen konnte, bevor er zu FC Nantes Atlantique wechselte und mit den Franzosen zwei Jahre später die Meisterschaft gewann. Er absolvierte 32 A-Länderspiele und feierte auch als Trainer beachtliche Erfolge.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 01.10.08 16.17MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/under21/season=1978/golden-player/index.html#1978+vahid+halilhodzic

The official website for European football

1978: Vahid Halilhodžić

Published: Thursday 1 June 1978, 6.58CET
Yugoslavia
1978: Vahid Halilhodžić
Vahid Halilhodžić (right) shone for Yugoslavia ©Getty Images
Published: Thursday 1 June 1978, 6.58CET

1978: Vahid Halilhodžić

Yugoslavia

Although only 16 when he made his debut at hometown club NK Turbina Jablanica, Vahid Halilhodžić looked little more than a decent domestic striker until he came of age in the 1978 UEFA European Under-21 Championship a decade later. He had enjoyed moderate success after switching to FK Velez in 1971, but going into the U21 final against East Germany much of the Balkan state's hopes appeared to rest on the budding talents of Zlatko Krmpotić, Nenad Stojković and Blaž Slišković.

Nevertheless, Halilhodžić scored the only goal of the first leg in Halle with an instinctive strike shortly after half-time. The goal came two days after the forward's 26th birthday and he had more reason to celebrate in the second encounter in Mostar, notching up a quick-fire hat-trick as the home team raced into a 3-1 lead before the 15-minute mark.

The East Germans fought back, but Yugoslavia held on for a 5-4 aggregate win, giving man-of-the-match Halilhodžić the reward he deserved. "I will never forget those three goals," he later reflected after a career that saw him win the Yugoslav Cup in 1981 before a switch to FC Nantes Atlantique, with whom he won the French league title two years later. Capped 32 times at senior international level, he went on to gain more success as a coach.

Last updated: 21/08/08 1.47CET

http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=1978/golden-player/index.html#1978+vahid+halilhodzic

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-21 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.