Le site officiel du football européen

1978 : Vahid Halilhodžić

Publié: Jeudi, 1 juin 1978, 6.58HEC
Yougoslavie
1978 : Vahid Halilhodžić
Vahid Halilhodžić a brillé en finale de l'EURO M21 1978 avec la Yougoslavie ©Getty Images
SSI Err
Publié: Jeudi, 1 juin 1978, 6.58HEC

1978 : Vahid Halilhodžić

Yougoslavie

Bien que seulement âgé de 16 ans lorsqu'il foulait la pelouse de son club natal du NK Turbina Jablanica pour la première fois, Vahid Halilhodžić s'était déjà fait un nom en championnat national avant d'arriver à maturité au Championnat d'Europe des moins de 21 ans de l'UEFA 1978 dix ans plus tard. Il avait connu un succès raisonnable après son arrivée au FK Velez en 1971, et pourtant la Yougoslavie comptait surtout sur les jeunes et talentueux Zlatko Krmpotić, Nenad Stojković and Blaž Slišković en finale contre l'Allemagne de l'Est.

Néanmoins, Halilhodžić inscrivait le seul but du match aller à Halle d'un tir instantané juste après la pause. Deux jours plus tôt, il soufflait ses 26 bougies et se faisait un beau cadeau au match retour à Mostar en marquant un triplé, permettant aux locaux de mener 3-1 après 15 minutes.

Les Est-Allemands se battaient férocement mais la Yougoslavie tenait sa victoire 5-4 sur l'ensemble des deux matches. Halilhodžić, l'homme du match, tenait là sa récompense. "Je n'oublierai jamais ces trois buts", repensait-il après une carrière qui le voyait remporter la Coupe de Yougoslavie en 1981 avant de partir pour le FC Nantes Atlantique où il remportait le titre de champion de France deux ans plus tard. Sélectionné 32 fois avec l'équipe nationale A, il a connu d'autres succès en tant qu'entraîneur.

Mis à jour le: 22/08/08 19.09HEC

http://fr.uefa.com/under21/season=1978/golden-player/index.html#1978+vahid+halilhodzic

The official website for European football

1978: Vahid Halilhodžić

Published: Thursday 1 June 1978, 6.58CET
Yugoslavia
1978: Vahid Halilhodžić
Vahid Halilhodžić (right) shone for Yugoslavia ©Getty Images
Published: Thursday 1 June 1978, 6.58CET

1978: Vahid Halilhodžić

Yugoslavia

Although only 16 when he made his debut at hometown club NK Turbina Jablanica, Vahid Halilhodžić looked little more than a decent domestic striker until he came of age in the 1978 UEFA European Under-21 Championship a decade later. He had enjoyed moderate success after switching to FK Velez in 1971, but going into the U21 final against East Germany much of the Balkan state's hopes appeared to rest on the budding talents of Zlatko Krmpotić, Nenad Stojković and Blaž Slišković.

Nevertheless, Halilhodžić scored the only goal of the first leg in Halle with an instinctive strike shortly after half-time. The goal came two days after the forward's 26th birthday and he had more reason to celebrate in the second encounter in Mostar, notching up a quick-fire hat-trick as the home team raced into a 3-1 lead before the 15-minute mark.

The East Germans fought back, but Yugoslavia held on for a 5-4 aggregate win, giving man-of-the-match Halilhodžić the reward he deserved. "I will never forget those three goals," he later reflected after a career that saw him win the Yugoslav Cup in 1981 before a switch to FC Nantes Atlantique, with whom he won the French league title two years later. Capped 32 times at senior international level, he went on to gain more success as a coach.

Last updated: 21/08/08 1.47CET

http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=1978/golden-player/index.html#1978+vahid+halilhodzic

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-21 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.