Le site officiel du football européen

1978 : Chapeau Halilhodžić !

Publié: Mercredi, 1 mars 2006, 15.16HEC

1978 : Chapeau Halilhodžić !
Vahid Halilhodžić sous le maillot du PSG ©Getty Images
Publié: Mercredi, 1 mars 2006, 15.16HEC

1978 : Chapeau Halilhodžić !


Vahid Halilhodžić a réalisé un coup du chapeau en première mi-temps de la finale aller du Championnat d'Europe des moins de 21 ans de l'UEFA 1978 contre la République démocratique allemande, pour permettre à la Yougoslavie de s'imposer (tot. 5-4). "Je n'oublierai jamais ces trois buts", déclare-t-il. Halilhodžić a mis la Yougoslavie en bonne voie deux semaines plus tôt, en marquant le seul but du match aller à Halle. A Mostar, la défense faisait place à l'attaque (4-4). Une finale de choix pour la première édition du Championnat d'Europe des moins de 21 ans de l'UEFA.

Triomphe de Toplak
L'ancien Championnat d'Europe des moins de 23 ans était dominé par l'Europe centrale et de l'Est et avait sacré des champions tels que la Tchécoslovaquie, la Hongrie et l'URSS. Le changement de format a semblé éveiller la moitié ouest du continent. Le premier championnat des moins de 21 ans rassemblait 24 équipes réparties en huit groupes de trois, dont les vainqueurs étaient qualifiés pour les quarts de finale. La Yougoslavie se qualifiait aux dépens de l'Espagne et de la Roumanie, pour affronter la Hongrie en quarts. Défaits 1-0 à l'aller à Maribor, les Yougoslaves s'imposaient 2-0 à Bekescsaba pour se qualifier pour les demi-finales. Ils affrontaient une sélection anglaise tombeuse de l'Italie au tour précédent. Mais les hommes d'Ivan Toplak s'imposaient 2-1 à Novi Sad, avant un nul 1-1 à Manchester

Irrésistible Allemagne
L'autre finaliste, la République démocratique allemande, se qualifiait dans le Groupe 3 après trois victoires et un nul contre la Turquie et l'Autriche. En quarts de finale, la Tchécoslovaquie semblait bien partie pour éliminer les Allemands après son succès 3-1 à domicile. Mais elle s'inclinait 5-2 à Halle. La Bulgarie, vainqueur du Danemark en quarts de finale, s'inclinait ensuite 2-1 puis 3-1 face au rouleau compresseur est-allemand que seule la Yougoslavie allait arrêter.

Halilhodžić au top
La finale aller, à Halle le 17 mai 1978, était défensive. Mais peu après la reprise, Halilhodžić saisissait l'une des rares occasions yougoslaves pour marquer et assurer la victoire. Au retour, 25 000 spectateurs comblaient stade Pod Bijelim Bregom à Mostar, pour venir admirer le talent en pleine éclosion de Zlatko Krmpotić, Nenad Stojković, et Blaž Slišković. Mais Halilhodžić leur volait la vedette, inscrivant trois buts au cours d'une première période incroyablement serrée puisqu'à la mi-temps, la République démocratique allemande menait 4-3. Bogdan Srečko rétablissait l'égalité pour la Yougoslavie en seconde période, et le match s'achevait sur le score de 4-4. Les hommes de Toplak remportaient donc le trophée, et Halilhodžić était sacré homme du match.

Mis à jour le: 30/04/10 18.27HEC

http://fr.uefa.com/under21/season=1978/overview/index.html#1978+chapeau+halilhodzic

Résultat final

La finale - retour - 31/05/1978
Yougoslavie4-4Rép.démocratique allemande
 
  • Score cumulé: 5-4
  • Stade: Bijeli Brijeg Sports Hall
  • Ville: Mostar (YUG)
La finale - Aller - 17/05/1978
Rép.démocratique allemande0-1Yougoslavie
 
  • Stade: Erdgas Sportpark
  • Ville: Halle (GER)
demi-finalistes
Bulgarie
Angleterre
 

Calendrier

Éliminatoires

Phase à élimination directe

Finale

The official website for European football

1978: Halilhodžić hat-trick heroics

Published: Thursday 1 June 1978, 15.16CET
Yugoslavia, 1978
1978: Halilhodžić hat-trick heroics
Vahid Halilhodžić (right) shone for Yugoslavia with four goals in the final ©Getty Images
Published: Thursday 1 June 1978, 15.16CET

1978: Halilhodžić hat-trick heroics

Yugoslavia, 1978

East Germany 0-1 Yugoslavia
(Halilhodžić 54)
Yugoslavia 4-4 East Germany
(Halilhodžić 9 15 36, Srečko 51; Kotte 2, Kühn 10 31, Riediger 14)
(agg: 5-4 to Yugoslavia)

Vahid Halilhodžić has much to be proud of as both player and coach, but in a long and illustrious career, he considers one of his earliest matches his greatest. Halilhodžić scored a first-half hat-trick in the second leg of the 1978 UEFA European Under-21 final against East Germany to lead Yugoslavia to a 5-4 aggregate victory. "I will never forget those three goals," he said. Halilhodžić had set Yugoslavia on the road to victory two weeks previously with the only goal of a tight first leg in Halle. But defence gave way to attack in Mostar as the two sides played out a thrilling 4-4 draw. It was a fitting finale to the first UEFA Under-21 Championship.

Toplak triumph
Central and Eastern Europe dominated the fleeting European Under-23 Championship, as Czechoslovakia, Hungary and the USSR all claimed trophies, and the switch to a new format failed to awaken the western half of the continent. Twenty-four teams took part in the inaugural Under-21 event. They were split into eight groups of three with the winners of each section advancing to the quarter-finals. Yugoslavia went through at the expense of Spain and Romania and were drawn against Hungary in the last eight. They lost the home leg 1-0 in Maribor, but rallied 2-0 in Bekescsaba to take their place in the final four. There they faced a strong England side that had knocked out Italy in the quarter-finals and they provided another stern test. Ivan Toplak's team this time made home advantage count, winning 2-1 in Novi Sad, before drawing 1-1 in Manchester to reach the final 3-2 on aggregate.

East Germany advance
There they came up against an East Germany side who had breezed through Group 3 with three wins and a draw against Turkey and Austria. Czechoslovakia were their opponents in the quarter-finals and East Germany looked to be on the way out after losing the away leg 3-1. A stirring recovery in Halle two weeks later, however, produced a 5-2 win which took them through 6-5 on aggregate. Bulgaria, who had squeezed past Denmark in the quarter-finals were up next, but they were defeated 2-1 and 3-1 by an East German side that had now found its stride. Until Yugoslavia came to town that is.

Halilhodžić heroics
The first leg of the final in Halle on 17 May 1978 was dominated by defence, but shortly after the restart Halilhodžić took one of the few chances that came Yugoslavia's way and that proved enough for victory. A crowd of 25,000 filled the stands of the Pod Bijelim Bregom stadium in Mostar for the second leg, to see the budding talents of Zlatko Krmpotić, Nenad Stojković and hometown boy Blaž Slišković, but again it was Halilhodžić that shone brightest. He scored three times in the first half, incredibly though, East Germany still went into the break 4-3 in front. Bogdan Srečko drew Yugoslavia level in the second half and a thrilling match ended 4-4, giving Toplak's side the trophy 5-4 on aggregate and man-of-the-match Halilhodžić the reward he deserved.

Last updated: 22/06/10 18.08CET

http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=1978/overview/index.html#1978+halilhodzic+trick+heroics

Final result

The final - Second leg - 31/05/1978
Yugoslavia4-4German Dem. Rep.
 
  • Aggregate: 5-4
  • Stadium: Bijeli Brijeg Sports Hall
  • Place: Mostar (YUG)
The final - First leg - 17/05/1978
German Dem. Rep.0-1Yugoslavia
 
  • Stadium: Erdgas Sportpark
  • Place: Halle (GER)
Semi-finalists
Bulgaria
England
 

Calendar

Qualifying

Knockout phase

Final

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-21 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.