Le site officiel du football européen

1980 : Anatoli Demianenko

Publié: Dimanche, 1 juin 1980, 6.55HEC
URSS
1980 : Anatoli Demianenko
Anatoli Demianenko a remporté l'EURO M21 avec l'URSS en 1980 ©Getty Images
SSI Err
Publié: Dimanche, 1 juin 1980, 6.55HEC

1980 : Anatoli Demianenko

URSS

Malgré son palmarès, le Championnat d'Europe des moins de 21 ans de l'UEFA 1979/80 reste une période mémorable pour Anatoli Demianenko. Il débute avec le club de sa ville natale du FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk avant prendre une nouvelle dimension à son arrivée au FC Dynamo Kyiv en 1979. Il remporte tout d'abord le titre de champion d'Union Soviétique lors de sa première saison dans la future capitale de l'Ukraine et finit la saison de toute beauté sur le plan international.

Essentiel lors des éliminatoires, il devient indispensable lors de la phase finale alors que l'URSS n'encaisse qu'un seul but en six matches à élimination directe face à l'Italie, la Yougoslavie et l'Allemagne de l'Est. "La victoire de 1980 est inoubliable", affirmait récemment Demianenko. "Nous avons compris que nous pouvions nous mesurer à n'importe qui et cette croyance nous a menés vers d'autres succès internationaux."

Après avoir fait ses premiers pas en équipe Seniors l'année suivante, Demianenko a aidé à ces succès. Il fut sélectionné à 80 reprises, dont trois Coupes du Monde de la FIFA et le Championnat d'Europe de l'UEFA 1988 où il permet à l'URSS d'atteindre la finale. L'arrière central n'est pas non plus en reste en club puisqu'il remportait quatre autres titres de champion et quatre Coupes d'URSS, ainsi que la Coupe des vainqueurs de coupe européenne 1986. Demianenko, qui est également passé au FC Magdeburg et au RTS Widzew Lodz, terminait sa carrière au Dynamo qui remportait son premier titre de champion d'Ukraine depuis l'indépendance du pays. Il devenait par la suite entraîneur.

Mis à jour le: 22/08/08 19.04HEC

http://fr.uefa.com/under21/season=1980/golden-player/index.html#1980+anatoli+demianenko

The official website for European football

1980: Anatoli Demianenko

Published: Sunday 1 June 1980, 6.55CET
USSR
1980: Anatoli Demianenko
Anatoli Demianenko in his playing days ©Getty Images
Published: Sunday 1 June 1980, 6.55CET

1980: Anatoli Demianenko

USSR

Despite all that he went on to achieve, the 1979/80 UEFA European Under-21 Championship campaign encompassed a memorable period for Anatoli Demianenko. He began with hometown club FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk before his career really took off with a switch to FC Dynamo Kyiv in 1979. A first Soviet championship arrived in Demianenko's first campaign in what was to become the Ukrainian capital and, turning his attention to the international stage, he capped the season in style.

Having been instrumental in the U21 qualifying campaign, he came to prominence in the final stages as the USSR team conceded just once in six knockout-round matches against Italy, Yugoslavia and East Germany to take the trophy at a canter. "Winning in 1980 was unforgettable," Demianenko recently reflected. "We learned we were a match for anybody, and that belief led us to further international success."

After making his senior debut the following year, Demianenko was central to that success. His 80 caps included three FIFA World Cups and the 1988 UEFA European Championships, where he played a pivotal role as the USSR reached the final. The centre-back also prospered at club level, winning four more league titles and four USSR Cups, as well as the 1986 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup. Demianenko, who also had spells with 1. FC Magdeburg and RTS Widzew Lodz, crowned his playing career by returning to Dynamo and helping them win their first title since Ukrainian independence before turning to coaching.

Last updated: 21/08/08 8.59CET

http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=1980/golden-player/index.html#1980+anatoli+demianenko

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-21 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.