Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

1982: Rudi Völler

Veröffentlicht: Donnerstag, 26. August 1982, 13.55MEZ
Deutschland
1982: Rudi Völler
Rudi Völler kann auf eine erfolgreiche Karriere zurückblicken ©Getty Images
SSI Err
Veröffentlicht: Donnerstag, 26. August 1982, 13.55MEZ

1982: Rudi Völler

Deutschland

Als der TSV 1860 München in der Saison 1980/81 abstieg, war es nur eine Frage der Zeit, bis Starstürmer Rudi Völler in die Bundesliga zurückkehren würde - ob mit 1860 oder eben woanders. Auch in der 2. Bundesliga lieferte Völler Woche für Woche gute Leistungen ab, so dass zahlreiche Talentspäher und auch U21-Nationaltrainer Berti Vogts auf ihn aufmerksam wurden. Vogts nominierte Völler, der das Vertrauen sofort zurückzahlte.

Gleich im ersten deutschen Qualifikationsspiel zur UEFA-U21-Europameisterschaft 1982 gegen Österreich erzielte Völler zwei Treffer. Auf dem Weg ins Finale markierte er drei weitere Tore, doch im Hinspiel in Sheffield war England zu stark für Deutschland. Als die Truppe von Berti Vogts 0:3 hinten lag, gelang Völler kurz vor Schluss nur der Anschlusstreffer. Das Rückspiel verpasste er aufgrund einer Verletzung. Deutschland gewann mit 3:2 und verpasste knapp den Titel.

Der Stürmer ging in diesem Sommer zu Werder Bremen und hatte sofort Erfolg. Er wurde Nationalspieler und erzielte 47 Treffer in 90 Länderspielen. 1990 gewann er die FIFA-Weltmeisterschaft. Im Halbfinale konnte er sich mit dem Sieg im Elfmeterschießen gegen Bobby Robsons Engländer für die U21-Pleite acht Jahre zuvor revanchieren. Im Endspiel gegen Argentinien in Rom holte er kurz vor Schluss den entscheidenden Elfmeter heraus, den Andreas Brehme verwandeln konnte. 1993 war Völler mit Olympique de Marseille zudem der erste Gewinner der neuen UEFA Champions League.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 01.10.08 16.36MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/under21/season=1982/golden-player/index.html#1982+rudi+voller

The official website for European football

1982: Rudi Völler

Published: Tuesday 1 June 1982, 6.50CET
West Germany
1982: Rudi Völler
Rudi Völler in action for Germany in 1981 ©Getty Images
Published: Tuesday 1 June 1982, 6.50CET

1982: Rudi Völler

West Germany

When TSV 1860 München were relegated at the end of the 1980/81 season, many felt it would only be a matter of time before their star striker Rudi Völler returned to the top flight, with or without the Munich club. Cast into the wilderness of the 2. Bundesliga, Völler continued to produce eye-catching performances as scouts flocked to the Olympiastadion, including national Under-21 coach Berti Vogts. A call-up resulted and Völler soon began repaying the faith.

Two goals in West Germany's opening qualifying match of the 1982 UEFA European Under-21 Championship against Austria proved a springboard to a successful campaign for both player and country. Völler added three more as the side reached the final but England proved too strong for the Germans in Sheffield. The visitors were 3-0 down when the determined Völler reduced the deficit late on. Injury ruled him out of the return, which saw England hold off a Pierre Littbarski-led comeback to claim the title.

Völler did not look back, though, joining Werder Bremen that summer and enjoying immediate success, including his first senior international cap. He went on to score 47 goals in 90 appearances for Germany, and lifted the inaugural UEFA Champions League trophy with Olympique de Marseille in 1993. The pinnacle of his international career came at the 1990 FIFA World Cup. After belatedly helping the Germans avenge that Under-21 loss to England with victory against Bobby Robson's side in the last four, Völler won the decisive penalty in the final against Argentina in Rome.

Last updated: 21/08/08 1.40CET

http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=1982/golden-player/index.html#1982+rudi+voller

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-21 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.