Le site officiel du football européen

1986 : L'Espagne aux tirs au but

Publié: Mercredi, 1 mars 2006, 16.40HEC

1986 : L'Espagne aux tirs au but
L'Espagnol Ramón Caldere tente de conquérir le ballon ©Getty Images
Publié: Mercredi, 1 mars 2006, 16.40HEC

1986 : L'Espagne aux tirs au but


Quatre mois après la défaite de l'Espagne aux tirs au but face à la Belgique en quarts de finale de la Coupe du Monde de la FIFA, les moins de 21 ans montraient à leurs aînés comment faire en battant l'Italie aux tirs au but, remportant ainsi le Championnat d'Europe des moins de 21 ans de l'UEFA. Le score après prolongation était de 3-3 au match retour. Une première en dix ans d'existence de la compétition. L'Espagne s'imposait mais les jeunes joueurs d'Azeglio Vicini allaient avoir un impact encore plus important lors de la Coupe du Monde 1990.

Effectif riche
Roberto Mancini, Giuseppe Giannini, Roberto Donadoni, Walter Zenga et Gianluca Vialli étaient les joyaux d'un jeune effectif italien au milieu des années 80. On attendait de grandes choses de leur part, et ils se qualifiaient facilement, inscrivant 15 buts en seulement quatre matches. En quarts de finale, ils retrouvaient la Suède, vainqueur du Groupe 2 devant l'Allemagne. Les hommes de Vicini se qualifiaient grâce à un but de Vialli, et l'attaquant de l'UC Sampdoria marquaient également lors des deux matches de la demi-finale contre l'Angleterre (victoire 3-1 de l'Italie sur l'ensemble des deux matches).

Passage confortable
L'Espagne aussi remportait facilement son groupe, ne marquant toutefois que quatre buts. Mais les champions de 1984 se libéraient en quarts de finale, s'imposant deux fois sur le score de 3-1 face à la France en quarts de finale, se qualifiant ainsi pour les demi-finales face à la Hongrie. L'Espagne s'inclinait 3-1 au match aller. Mais au match retour, elle renversait la tendance, s'imposant 4-1 et rejoignant l'Italie en finale.

Tirs au but
Six mois plus tard, à Rome, Ramón Caldere ouvrait le score à la 36e minute pour l'Espagne mais l'Italie revenait grâce à des buts de Giannini et Vialli, qui avaient passé l'été avec les A au Mexique. Lors du match retour en Espagne, un but contre son camp de Roberto Cravero redonnait l'avantage aux Espagnols à Barcelone. Malgré l'égalisation de Giovanni Francini, un but de Roberto à la 76e minute emmenait les deux équipes vers la prolongation, puis vers la séance de tirs au but que l'Espagne remportait 3-0. Quatre ans plus tard, Vicini était le sélectionneur de l'équipe A. Il décidait de garder son effectif des moins de 21 ans et atteignait les demi-finales de la Coupe du Monde 1990.

Mis à jour le: 30/04/10 18.26HEC

http://fr.uefa.com/under21/season=1986/overview/index.html#1986+lespagne+tirs

Résultat final

La finale - retour - 29/10/1986
Espagne2-1Italie
 
  • Score cumulé: 3-3
    Espagne l'emporte 3-0 aux tirs au but
  • Stade: Nuevo José Zorrilla
  • Ville: Valladolid (ESP)
La finale - Aller - 15/10/1986
Italie2-1Espagne
 
  • Stade: Flaminio
  • Ville: Rome (ITA)
demi-finalistes
Angleterre
Hongrie
 

Calendrier

Éliminatoires

Phase à élimination directe

Finale

The official website for European football

1986: Spain prevail on penalties

Published: Sunday 1 June 1986, 16.40CET
1986: Spain prevail on penalties
Ramón Caldere (left) opened the scoring in the final for Spain ©Getty Images
Published: Sunday 1 June 1986, 16.40CET

1986: Spain prevail on penalties

Italy 2-1 Spain
(Vialli 50, Giannini 76; Caldere 36)
Spain 2-1 Italy
(Cravero 36og, Roberto 76; Francini 38)
(agg: 3-3, Spain win 3-0 on penalties)

Just four months after Spain had lost to Belgium on penalties in the quarter-finals of the FIFA World Cup, their Under-21 side showed the seniors how it should be done by overcoming Italy in a shoot-out to claim the UEFA European Under-21 Championship. The final ended 3-3 after extra-time in the second leg, meaning the destination of the trophy would have to be decided on spot-kicks for the first time in the tournament's ten-year history. Spain came out on top, but it was the legacy of Azeglio Vicini's Azzurrini squad that would have a greater impact at the 1990 World Cup.

Rich harvest
Roberto Mancini, Giuseppe Giannini, Roberto Donadoni, Walter Zenga and Gianluca Vialli were the cream of an exciting young crop of Italian players during the mid-1980s. Great things were expected of them and they duly strolled through the group stage, scoring 15 goals in just four matches to set up a last-eight tie with Sweden, who had topped Group 2 ahead of Germany. Vicini's side edged through thanks to a goal from Vialli, and the UC Sampdoria forward was again on target in both legs of the semi-finals against England as Italy triumphed 3-1 on aggregate.

Comfortable passage
Spain reached the knockout stages after comfortably winning their section, despite scoring only four times. But the 1984 European U21 Championship finalists cut loose against France in the quarter-finals, claiming 3-1 victories home and away to set up a last-four encounter with Hungary. Spain lost the first leg 3-1, but came back in thrilling style, winning 4-1 to earn a final place against Italy.

Penalty drama
The final first leg was six months later and it was Italy who seized the initiative in Rome. Ramón Caldere opened the scoring on 36 minutes, but the home team fought back with goals from Giannini and Vialli, who had spent the summer with the senior side in Mexico. Roberto Cravero's first-half own goal swung the tie back in Spain's favour in the return in Barcelona and although Giovanni Francini equalised almost immediately, Roberto's 76th-minute strike took the final to extra time and ultimately penalties, where Spain ran out 3-0 winners. Four years later Vicini was coach of the full Italy side. He kept the nucleus of his Under-21 team together and they went on to reach the semi-finals of the World Cup in 1990.

Last updated: 21/06/10 17.12CET

http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=1986/overview/index.html#1986+spain+prevail+penalties

Final result

The final - Second leg - 29/10/1986
Spain2-1Italy
 
  • Aggregate: 3-3
    Spain win 3-0 on penalties
  • Stadium: Nuevo José Zorrilla
  • Place: Valladolid (ESP)
The final - First leg - 15/10/1986
Italy2-1Spain
 
  • Stadium: Flaminio
  • Place: Rome (ITA)
Semi-finalists
England
Hungary
 

Calendar

Qualifying

Knockout phase

Final

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-21 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.