Le site officiel du football européen

1990 : Davor Šuker

Publié: Vendredi, 1 juin 1990, 6.43HEC
Yougoslavie
1990 : Davor Šuker
Davor Šuker (Croatia) ©Getty Images
SSI Err
Publié: Vendredi, 1 juin 1990, 6.43HEC

1990 : Davor Šuker

Yougoslavie

Davor Šuker incarne une jeune génération très talentueuse dans les Balkans au début des éliminatoires du Championnat d'Europe 1988/90. Evoluant tous dans l'équipe de Yougoslavie vainqueur du Championnat du monde Juniors de la FIFA en 1987, Zvonomir Boban, Degan Savićević, Pedrag Mijatović, Robert Prosinecki et Robert Jarni sont les héros de l'aventure des moins de 21 ans, Šuker se distinguant tout particulièrement.

L'attaquant originaire d'Osijek marque quatre buts en cinq rencontres dans le Groupe 5 enlevé par la Yougoslavie et marque le seul but du match à Sofia lors de la victoire yougoslave 3-0 au score cumulé contre la Bulgarie en quart de finale. L'Italie est un sérieux client au tour suivant, les Azzurrini arrachant un 0-0 à Zagreb avant que Šuker et Boban ne répondent à deux buts italiens à Parme, expédiant la Yougoslavie en finale de la compétition pour la deuxième fois, après son succès en 1978.

En finale, même la présence de Šuker et son but au match aller ne parviennent pas à battre l'URSS qui s'impose 7-3 au score cumulé. Mais cette épopée marquera une nouvelle étape dans la brillante carrière du talentueux avant-centre. Plus tard, il remportera l'UEFA Champions League 1998 avec le Real Madrid CF et représentera la Croatie avec brio – notamment lors de la Coupe du Monde de la FIFA 1998 où il obtient tous les honneurs en marquant six buts sous le maillot de la Croatie indépendante, qui terminera sur la 3e marche du podium.

Mis à jour le: 20/02/09 18.08HEC

http://fr.uefa.com/under21/season=1990/golden-player/index.html#1990+davor+suker

The official website for European football

1990: Davor Šuker

Published: Friday 1 June 1990, 6.43CET
Yugoslavia
1990: Davor Šuker
Davor Šuker was the leading scorer at the 1998 World Cup ©Getty Images
Published: Friday 1 June 1990, 6.43CET

1990: Davor Šuker

Yugoslavia

Davor Šuker was at the vanguard of a prodigiously talented crop of players in the Balkans as qualifying began for the 1988/90 championship. Zvonomir Boban, Degan Savićević, Pedrag Mijatović, Robert Prosinecki and Robert Jarni had each played in Yugoslavia’s 1987 FIFA World Youth Championship-winning team and all impressed during a dominant U21 campaign, but it was Šuker who shone brightest.

The Osijek-born striker scored four goals in five games as Yugoslavia won Group 5 and also struck the only goal in Sofia as his side completed a 3-0 aggregate quarter-final victory against Bulgaria. Italy would prove more testing opponents in the next stage, the Azzurrini holding out for a 0-0 draw in Zagreb before Šuker and Boban struck either side of two home goals in Parma to send Yugoslavia through to a second final at this level, having won in 1978.

Ultimately, even Šuker's presence – and goal in the home leg – was not enough in the final as the USSR prevailed 7-3 on aggregate, but it proved another step in an illustrious career for the gifted forward. He went on to win the UEFA Champions League with Real Madrid CF in 1998 and represent Croatia with distinction – never more so than at the 1998 FIFA World Cup where he earned global acclaim by scoring six goals as the independent nation finished third.

Last updated: 02/07/10 17.17CET

http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=1990/golden-player/index.html#1990+davor+suker

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-21 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.