Le site officiel du football européen

2004 : Alberto Gilardino

Publié: Mardi, 1 juin 2004, 6.25HEC
Italie
2004 : Alberto Gilardino
Alberto Gilardino (Italie) ©Getty Images
SSI Err
Publié: Mardi, 1 juin 2004, 6.25HEC

2004 : Alberto Gilardino

Italie

Né le 5 juillet 1982, le jour où Paolo Rossi a marqué son fameux triplé pour battre le Brésil 3-2 avec l'Italie en phase finale de la Coupe du Monde de la FIFA, Alberto Gilardino a permis aux Azzurrini de remporter leur cinquième Championnat d'Europe des moins de 21 ans de l'UEFA en 2004.

Gilardino n'inscrivait qu'un seul but en phase de groupes pour aider l'équipe de Claudio Gentile à effacer sa défaite au premier match contre le Bélarus et se qualifier pour les demi-finales en tant que vainqueur du Groupe A. Mais c'est à partir de ce moment-là que le jeune buteur, qui évoluait alors au Parma FC, allait faire parler la poudre. Il commençait par ouvrir le score face au Portugal, avant d'offrir le second but à Giampiero Pinzi, puis de clôturer la marque en fin de rencontre (3-1). Gilardino confirmait ensuite en finale à Bochum qu'il était un buteur né en inscrivant le troisième but des Italiens contre la Serbie et Monténégro en driblant le gardien adverse à la 84e minute pour glisser le ballon au fond des filets et fêter la victoire 3-0 des Azzurrini.

Les hommes de Gentile allaient ensuite remporter la médaille de bronze aux Jeux Olympiques d'Athènes avant que Gilardino ne soit appelé en équipe senior pour un match de qualification de Coupe du Monde contre la Norvège, en septembre 2004. En inscrivant une nouvelle fois 23 buts pour Parme en Serie A, il attirait la convoitise de l'AC Milan, qui le recrutait pour 24 M€ l'été suivant, ainsi que l'intérêt de son sélectionneur, qui lui faisait disputer deux matches (un but) dans la Coupe du Monde 2006 remportée par l'Italie. Non appelé pour l'UEFA EURO 2008™, Gilardino rejoignait alors l'ACF Fiorentina, où il a retrouvé son entraîneur à Parme, Cesare Prandelli.

Mis à jour le: 21/08/08 19.56HEC

http://fr.uefa.com/under21/season=2004/golden-player/index.html#2004+alberto+gilardino

The official website for European football

2004: Alberto Gilardino

Published: Tuesday 1 June 2004, 6.25CET
Italy
2004: Alberto Gilardino
Alberto Gilardino won the World Cup two years after his U21 triumph with Italy ©Getty Images
Published: Tuesday 1 June 2004, 6.25CET

2004: Alberto Gilardino

Italy

Born on 5 July 1982, the same day that Paolo Rossi scored a famous hat-trick as Italy defeated Brazil 3-2 in the FIFA World Cup finals, Alberto Gilardino was similarly inspirational as the Azzurrini won the UEFA European Under-21 Championship for a fifth time in 2004.

Gilardino would only score once in the group stage as Claudio Gentile's side recovered from losing their opening match to Belarus to qualify for the semi-finals as Group A winners, but came into his own as Portugal were blown away in the last four. Then of Parma FC, he scored the first goal and swiftly made the second for Giampiero Pinzi before capping a 3-1 victory with Italy's third near the end. Gilardino underlined his billing as a natural born goalscorer in the final in Bochum, completing a 3-0 victory by clipping the ball past the Serbia and Montenegro goalkeeper in the 84th minute and rolling it over the line to cue ecstatic on-field celebrations.

Gentile's team would go on to claim an Olympic bronze medal before Gilardino stepped up to the senior side for a World Cup qualifier against Norway in September 2004. A second successive 23-goal season for Parma prompted AC Milan to pay €24m for his services the following summer and he went on to play two games for his country, scoring one goal, in their successful 2006 World Cup campaign. Gilardino was then overlooked for UEFA EURO 2008™, prompting a move to ACF Fiorentina where he rejoined his mentor from his Parma days, Cesare Prandelli.

Last updated: 22/06/10 18.52CET

http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=2004/golden-player/index.html#2004+alberto+gilardino

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-21 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.