The official website for European football


Held at 14.00CET, Friday 12 September, Nyon


Held at 14.00CET, Friday 12 September, Nyon

The draw
Slovakia v Italy
France v Sweden
Denmark v Iceland
England v Croatia
Netherlands v Portugal
Ukraine v Germany
Serbia v Spain (holders)

The ties will be played across two legs, held between 8 and 14 October, first named team at home first
Winners join the Czech Republic in the finals
Finals draw: 6 November, Prague
Final tournament: 17–30 June, Czech Republic

Seeded: Spain (holders), Italy, England, France, Germany, Portugal, Denmark

Unseeded: Sweden, Slovakia, Croatia, Netherlands*, Ukraine*, Serbia*, Iceland*

*Best runners-up

How it unfolded

Play-off draw procedure
• As set out in the official competition regulations, the seeded were the seven group winners with the best coefficient taking into account results in the full 2009–11 and 2011–13 editions (qualifying and final tournaments) plus the 2013–15 qualifying group stage.

• The seven unseeded teams were drawn against the seven seeded nations, though no side could meet one they met in the qualifying group stage.

• The home team for the first leg were decided by a draw.

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Under-21 Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.