All times CET
26 March 2015
26 March 2015 26 Mar - Under-21, 2017_qualifying (Group 2)
Republic of Ireland1-0Andorra
Referee: Tsvetan Krastev (BUL) Stadium: Regional Sports Centre, Waterford (IRL)
08/03/2017 13:50:16
28 March 2015
28 March 2015 28 Mar - Under-21, 2017_qualifying (Group 4)
Referee: Zbynek Proske (CZE) Stadium: Sportpark Eschen-Mauren, Eschen (LIE)
08/10/2017 09:52:49
30 March 2015
30 March 2015 30 Mar - Under-21, 2017_qualifying (Group 1)
Referee: Paul Mclaughlin (IRL) Stadium: Den Dreef, Louvain (BEL)
03/13/2017 11:54:02
31 March 2015
31 March 2015 31 Mar - Under-21, 2017_qualifying (Group 5)
Referee: Bart Vertenten (BEL) Stadium: Cardiff City Stadium, Cardiff (WAL)
03/13/2017 11:54:02
3 June 2015
3 June 2015 03 Jun - Under-21, 2017_qualifying (Group 6)
San Marino0-3Georgia
Referee: Enea Jorgji (ALB) Stadium: San Marino Stadium, Serravalle (SMR)
08/07/2017 09:04:53
7 June 2015
7 June 2015 07 Jun - Under-21, 2017_qualifying (Group 4)
Referee: Giorgi Kruashvili (GEO) Stadium: Rheinpark Stadion, Vaduz (LIE)
06/02/2017 13:35:11
8 June 2015
8 June 2015 08 Jun - Under-21, 2017_qualifying (Group 2)
Referee: Alexandr Aliyev (KAZ) Stadium: Mestni, Ajdovscina (SVN)
03/13/2017 11:54:02
11 June 2015
11 June 2015 11 Jun - Under-21, 2017_qualifying (Group 1)
Referee: Zaven Hovhannisyan (ARM) Stadium: Stadionul Zimbru, Chisinau (MDA)
05/15/2017 07:40:19
11 June 2015 11 Jun - Under-21, 2017_qualifying (Group 3)
Iceland3-0FYR Macedonia
Referee: Tore Hansen (NOR) Stadium: Hlídarendi, Reykjavik (ISL)
06/02/2017 09:57:05
13 June 2015
13 June 2015 13 Jun - Under-21, 2017_qualifying (Group 9)
Norway2-0Bosnia and Herzegovina
Referee: Anatoliy Zhabchenko (UKR) Stadium: Marienlyst, Drammen (NOR)
08/07/2017 11:48:18

Last updated: 08/05/2017 11:31 CET

* If England qualify for the semi-finals, a play-off will be needed to decide places for the 2016 Olympic Games


Road to the final

The 2019 UEFA European Under-21 Championship features a qualifying group stage and a play-off round to determine which 11 teams join co-hosts Italy in the final tournament.

Qualifying group stage
Teams are split into nine groups of six teams each and play each other on a home-and-away basis. The nine group winners qualify automatically. The four runners-up with the best record against the nations first, third, fourth and fifth in their sections advance to the play-offs.

The two play-off ties are contested according to the knockout system. The team that scores the greater aggregate of goals proceeds to the next round, with away goals, extra time and then penalties used to determine the winner in the event of a draw.

Final tournament
The final tournament involves the nine group winners, the two play-off victors and Poland, who qualify automatically as hosts. The 12 sides are divided into three groups of four. Teams play each other once in their section, with the three pool winners and the best runner-up qualifying for the semi-finals.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, can be found in the official competition regulations.